Univision Keeps Living the Passion of Fútbol With Broadcast of USA vs. Brazil and Mexico vs. Spain

Categories: Network TV Press Releases,TV Sports Ratings & News

Written By

August 6th, 2010

via press release:

UNIVISION KEEPS LIVING THE PASSION OF FÚTBOL WITH THE BROADCAST OF TWO EXCITING MATCHES USA VS. BRAZIL AND MEXICO VS. SPAIN

“The Stars and Stripes” and “The Golden Squad” Face Off in a “Duelo de Gigantes” (Duel of the Giants) on Tuesday, August 10th at 8pm ET, Live Coast to Coast

Making Its Highly-Anticipated Return to the Univision Screen “El Tri” Plays Against the 2010 FIFA World Cup Champion™ in “El Juego del Bicentenario” (The Bicentennial Game) on Wednesday, August 11th at 4pm ET, Live Coast to Coast

UnivisionFutbol.com to Offer Free Live Online Streaming of Both Matches in the U.S. and Puerto Rico



WHAT: Just weeks after the successful conclusion of Univision’s unprecedented and highly acclaimed coverage of the exciting 2010 FIFA World Cup™ South Africa, the network invites soccer fans everywhere to continue living the passion of fútbol with the broadcast of two exciting exhibition matches, USA vs. Brazil and Mexico vs. Spain.

In what is going to be a “duelo de gigantes” (duel of the giants), USA’s “Stars and Stripes” measure up against Brazil’s “Golden Squad” in a friendly match to be broadcast LIVE coast to coast from New Jersey’s Meadowlands Stadium. The last time these teams played each other was during the 2009 Confederation’s Cup final, in which Team USA was able to hold a 2-0 lead during the first half of the match, proving to be a tough rival for Brazil who finally dominated with 3 goals in the second half and won the championship for the fifth time.

On Wednesday, Mexico’s “El Tri” returns to Univision in “El Juego del Bicentenario” (The Bicentennial Game) against 2010 FIFA World Cup™ Champion Spain, “La Furia Roja” (The Red Fury).  Broadcast live coast to coast directly from the Azteca Stadium in Mexico City, the friendly match is part of the festivities in celebration of the bicentennial anniversary of Mexico’s Independence. The game will be preceded by a special one-hour pre-game show hosted by Univision Sports’ renowned group of commentators, including Pablo Ramírez and Jesús Bracamontes.

WHEN: Tuesday, August 10th

USA vs. Brazil; 8pm ET, 7pm Central, 5pm Pacific

Wednesday, August 11th

Special Pre-Game Show; 3pm ET/ 2pm Central/12 noon Pacific

Mexico vs. Spain; 4pm ET, 3pm Central, 1pm Pacific

WHERE: Univision Television Network

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

Both matches will be streamed live online and for free at UnivisionFutbol.com in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. The UnivisionFutbol.com online and mobile site will engage users with real-time results, news and all the latest coverage and commentary. Fans can also access video interviews with players and coaches online, as well as exclusive behind-the-scenes video of soccer stars. The popular Univision Fútbol App is also providing instant game updates and details match stats across all platforms. UnivisionFutbol.com will continue to offer the most comprehensive coverage of worldwide soccer throughout the year.

Univision Communications Inc. is the premier Spanish-language media company in the United States.  Its operations include Univision Network, the most-watched Spanish-language broadcast television network in the U.S. reaching 95% of U.S. Hispanic Households; TeleFutura Network, a general-interest Spanish-language broadcast television network, which was launched in 2002 and now reaches 85% of U.S. Hispanic Households; Galavisión, the country’s leading Spanish-language cable network; Univision Studios, which produces and co-produces telenovelas, reality shows, dramatic series and other programming formats for all of the Company’s platforms; Univision Television Group, which owns and operates 63 television stations in major U.S. Hispanic markets and Puerto Rico; Univision Radio, the leading Spanish-language radio group which owns and/or operates 68 radio stations in 16 of the top 25 U.S. Hispanic markets and 5 stations in Puerto Rico; and Univision Interactive Media, which includes http://www.univision.com, the premier Spanish-language Internet destination in the U.S., and Univision Móvil, the industry’s most comprehensive Spanish-language suite of mobile offerings. Univision Communications also has a 50% interest in TuTv, a joint venture formed to broadcast Televisa’s pay television channels in the U.S. Univision Communications has television network operations in Miami and television and radio stations and sales offices in major cities throughout the United States. For more information, please visit www.univision.net

 
© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures