'Pardon The Interruption' Viewers Like Bill Simmons (@SportsGuy33), They Really Like Him

Categories: Cable TV,TV Sports Ratings & News

Written By

September 28th, 2010

Sure, we heard from a few readers who didn't like Bill Simmons' guest hosting stint on ESPN's Pardon The Interruption last week.  But fortunately for ESPN (and Mr. Simmons) those viewers don't matter.

The viewers who do matter, i.e. the viewers who have Nielsen People Meters,  liked him just fine. PTI got more viewing the week Simmons was on than it did the previous week.

No Nielsen box for me, but I liked him and would guess from the numbers he'll be back someday.

Here are the last two weeks of PTI viewer averages for the 5:30p ET telecast on ESPN (update: Wilbon & Kornheiser hosted on Monday September 20.)

Date Day Time Show Viewers (Millions)
20-Sep Monday 05:30P-06:00P Pardon The Interruption 1.523
22-Sep Wednesday 05:30P-06:00P Pardon The Interruption 1.383
21-Sep Tuesday 05:30P-06:00P Pardon The Interruption 1.331
24-Sep Friday 05:30P-06:00P Pardon The Interruption 1.292
23-Sep Thursday 05:30P-06:00P Pardon The Interruption 1.263
14-Sep Tuesday 05:30P-06:00P Pardon The Interruption 1.396
17-Sep Friday 05:30P-06:00P Pardon The Interruption 1.284
15-Sep Wednesday 05:30P-06:00P Pardon The Interruption 1.199
16-Sep Thursday 05:30P-06:00P Pardon The Interruption 1.120
13-Sep Monday 03:30P-04:30P Pardon The Interruption 1.067

Notes:

  • Update: the week of 9/13-9/17 both Tony Kornheiser and Michael Wilbon were both hosting Monday-Thursday; on Friday 9/17, Tony and Dan LeBatard hosted.
  • The week of September 13-17 the Monday telecast was abnormally low due to starting 2 hours earlier  the day of the Monday Night Football kickoff/doubleheader.
 
© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures