TV Land's 'Hot in Cleveland' Honored with Screen Actors Guild Awards Nominations for Betty White and Comedy Ensemble

Categories: Network TV Press Releases

Written By

December 16th, 2010

via press release:

TV LAND’S “Hot In Cleveland” HONORED WITH TWO

Screen Actors Guild AWARDS® NOMINATIONS

Network’s First Original Sitcom Scores Nominations For

Outstanding Performance By An Ensemble In A Comedy Series And

Outstanding Performance By A Female Actor in a Comedy Series – Betty White

New York, NY, December 16, 2010 – TV Land’s very first original sitcom “Hot In Cleveland,” received two nominations for the upcoming 17th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®, it was announced today from the Pacific Design Center in Los Angeles. “Hot In Cleveland” is the network’s critically-acclaimed hit and cable’s #1 sitcom starring beloved actresses Valerie Bertinelli (“One Day at a Time”), Jane Leeves (“Frasier”), Wendie Malick (“Just Shoot Me”) and recent Emmy® Award-winner, Betty White (“The Golden Girls”).

The sitcom is nominated this year in two categories including: Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series and Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Comedy Series – Betty White.

“’Hot In Cleveland’ is lightning in a bottle with these four fabulous women,” says Larry W. Jones, president, TV Land.  “They are truly making modern classic TV history.  Everyone here at TV Land is so proud.”

“Hot in Cleveland” revolves around three fabulous best friends from LA – novelist Melanie Moretti (Valerie Bertinelli), eye-brow Archer to the stars Joy Scroggs (Jane Leeves) and former soap star Victoria Chase (Wendie Malick) – who find their lives changed forever when their plane, headed for Paris, makes an unexpected landing.  When the friends discover that life is better for them and that they are hot in Cleveland, they decide to stay.  Starting over together, they rent a house that happens to come with a very opinionated caretaker (Betty White).

Filmed in front of a live studio audience, “Hot in Cleveland” is executive produced by Emmy® Award-winner Sean Hayes and Todd Milliner of Hazy Mills Productions and is helmed by Emmy® Award-winning Suzanne Martin (“Frasier,” “Ellen”) serving as executive producer, show runner and writer.  Lynda Obst also serves as executive producer.

The17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be simulcast live coast to-coast on TNT and TBS on Sunday, Jan. 30, 2011, at 8 p.m. (ET), 7 p.m. (CT), 6 p.m. (MT) and 5 p.m. (PT) from the Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles.

 
© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures