2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup TV Schedule on ESPN

Categories: Network TV Press Releases,TV Sports Ratings & News

Written By

March 21st, 2011

Update: to save you some scrolling, the Japan vs. USA Women's World Cup final match itself begins at 2:45p ET/11:45a PT on ESPN on July 17, 2011. The match coverage begins at 2pm ET on ESPN.

via press release:

2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup Schedule on ESPN

All 32 Matches Live and in HD; Mobile and Digital Coverage

ESPN will present comprehensive coverage of the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup June 26 – July 17 from nine cities across Germany.  All 32 matches will be aired live and in high definition on ESPN, ESPN2 as well as ESPN3.com and ESPN Mobile TV.

ESPN will air 23 FIFA Women’s World Cup matches.  ESPN2 will feature nine matches.  All programming on ESPN and ESPN2 will also be available online through ESPNnetworks.com, which is accessible to fans who receive their video service from an affiliated provider.

Coverage will begin Sunday, June 26, on ESPN2, ESPN3.com and ESPN Mobile TV, with the first match of the three-week tournament – Nigeria vs. France – beginning at 8:45 a.m. ET from the Rhein Neckar Arena in Sinsheim.  The opening match of the tournament featuring host nation and defending FIFA Women’s World Cup champion Germany vs. Canada will air on ESPN, ESPN3.com and ESPN Mobile TV, later that day at 11:30 a.m. from the Berlin Olympiastadion.

Pre-match, Halftime and Post-match Segments

All 32 matches will be aired live, including 28 with match commentators at the match sites in Germany.  Additionally all match telecasts will feature pre-match, halftime and post-match studio segments originating live from the host nation.  The pre-match segments will include all symbolic FIFA World Cup traditions – the teams walking onto the pitch, the national anthems and ceremonial handshakes.


ESPN’s signature broadband network will provide live online simulcasts of all 32 matches, including ESPN and ESPN2’s live pre-match, halftime and post-match segments.

Additionally, the matches will be archived and accessible to fans on ESPN3.com through the end of August 2011.  All matches will be available for replay on ESPN3.com shortly after their completion.

ESPN3.com is one of the premier broadband destinations for live soccer events featuring England’s Barclays Premier League, Spain’s La Liga, German Bundesliga, Dutch Eredivisie, Italian soccer (Serie A, Coppa Italia) and more.


ESPN Mobile TV

ESPN Mobile TV, ESPN's 24/7 mobile sports television network, will feature live coverage of the matches from ESPN and ESPN2 telecasts with the exception of six matches.


ESPN TV On Demand

ESPN TV On Demand, available in more than 35-million homes, will distribute all matches same day and the next day, and each match will be available to fans for two weeks.



THE U.S. Women’s National Team

The U.S. Women’s National Team, a two-time FIFA Women’s World Cup champion and currently ranked No. 1 in the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking, will kickoff its 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup campaign against Korea DPR (ranked No. 6) live on ESPN, ESPN3.com and ESPN Mobile TV Tuesday, June 28 at 11:45 a.m., from the Rudolf Harbig Stadion in Dresden.  Other U.S. first round matches:


Sa 7/2   ESPN/ESPN3.com at 11:30 a.m.

USA vs. Colombia

Wed 7/6 ESPN/ESPN3.com at 2:30 p.m.

Sweden vs. USA



2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup Groupings

Group A Group B Group C Group D
1  Germany 1  Japan 1  USA 1  Brazil
2  Canada 2  New Zealand 2  Korea DPR 2  Australia
3  Nigeria 3  Mexico 3  Colombia 3  Norway
4  France 4  England 4  Sweden 4  Equatorial Guinea


2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup TV Schedule – ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPN3.com

u All times EASTERN u Schedule is subject to change u All matches in high definition

u FIFA match #s


Date Time Network Match Group Site Match No. (#)
Su 6/26 8:45 a.m. ESPN2/ESPN3.com Nigeria vs. France A Sinsheim 2
11:30 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Germany vs. Canada A Berlin 1
Mo 6/27 8:45 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Japan vs. New Zealand B Bochum 3
11:45 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Mexico vs. England B Wolfsburg 4
Tu 6/28 8:45 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Colombia vs. Sweden C Leverkusen 6
11:45 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com USA vs. Korea DPR C Dresden 5
We 6/29 8:45 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Norway vs. Equa. Guinea D Augsburg 8
12 p.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Brazil vs. Australia D Moenchengladbach 7
Th 6/30 11:45 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Canada vs. France A Bochum 10
2:30 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN3.com Germany vs. Nigeria A Frankfurt 9
Fr 7/1 8:45 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Japan vs. Mexico B Leverkusen 11
12 p.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com New Zealand vs. England B Dresden 12
Sa 7/2 7:45 a.m. ESPN2/ESPN3.com Korea DPR vs. Sweden C Augsburg 14
11:30 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com USA vs. Colombia C Sinsheim 13
Su 7/3 7:45 a.m. ESPN2/ESPN3.com Australia vs. Equa. Guinea D Bochum 16
12 p.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Brazil vs. Norway D Wolfsburg 15
Tu 7/5 12 p.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com England vs. Japan B Augsburg 19
12 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN3.com New Zealand vs. Mexico B Sinsheim 20
2:30 p.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com France vs. Germany A Moenchengladbach 17
2:30 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN3.com Canada vs. Nigeria A Dresden 18
We 7/6 11:45 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Equa. Guinea vs. Brazil D Frankfurt 23
11:45 a.m. ESPN2/ESPN3.com Australia vs. Norway D Leverkusen 24
2:30 p.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Sweden vs. USA C Wolfsburg 21
2:30 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN3.com Korea DPR vs. Colombia C Bochum 22


2nd Stage – Quarterfinals

Date Time Network Match Site Match #
Sa 7/9 11:30 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com 1st B vs. 2nd A Leverkusen 26
2:15 p.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com 1st A vs. 2nd B Wolfsburg 25
Su 7/10 6:30 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com 1st C vs. 2nd D Augsburg 27
11 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com 1st D vs. 2nd C Dresden 28


2nd Stage – Semifinals

Date Time Network Match Site Match #
We 7/13 11:30 a.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Winners: Match 26 vs. 28 Moenchengladbach 30
2:15 p.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Winners: Match 25 vs. 27 Frankfurt 29


Third Place Match

Sa 7/16 11 a.m. ESPN2/ESPN3.com Losers – 29 vs. 30 Sinsheim 31


2011 FIFA World Cup Title Match

Su 7/17 2 p.m. ESPN/ESPN3.com Winners – 29 vs. 30 Frankfurt 32



ESPN and the FIFA Women’s World Cup

The 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup will mark the fifth straight time ESPN has televised the international competition.  ESPN and ESPN2 combined to air six matches of the 1995 Women’s World Cup from Sweden.  In 1999, ESPN, ESPN2 and ABC televised all 32 matches, and in 2003, when the competition was moved to the US due to the threat of SARS (Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome), the networks featured 18 matches.  ESPN and ESPN2 televised all 32 matches of the 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup in China.


FIFA Women’s World Cup: A Synopsis

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is recognized as the world’s largest single-sport team event for women.  Contested every four years, this is the sixth FIFA Women’s World Cup competition.  The inaugural competition debuted in China (1991), 61 years after the first men’s (FIFA World Cup) tournament in 1930.  The United States and defending champion Germany are two-time winners of the championship.  Norway has one title.


Women’s World Cup        Champion                Host Nation

1991 USA             China

1995 Norway          Sweden

1999 USA             USA

2003 Germany         USA

2007 Germany         China

2011 ???             Germany

© 2015 Tribune Digital Ventures