ESPN Announces 2011-12 NCAA Women’s Basketball TV Schedule

Categories: Press Releases

Written By

October 17th, 2011

via press release:

ESPN Announces 2011-12 Women’s Basketball Schedule

More Than 100 Games Across Networks Including ESPN3 Increase and First-Ever ESPN 3D Game

 

ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN3 will present a record-high 108 women’s college basketball games during the 2011-12 season, in addition to ESPN FULL COURT’s coverage, increasing the total number of matchups to approximately 250 games this year. The schedule includes 84 games during the regular season and 13  from the conference tournaments. ESPN3 will continue to simulcast all of the ESPN and ESPN2 games. ESPN networks will also air all 63 games of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship in March.

 

ESPN2 is set to televise 31 regular-season games, including the network’s season-opening matchup featuring top 25 favorites Miami (FL) at Tennessee in the State Farm Tip-Off Classic as part of the College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon Presented by Disney Destinations on Tuesday, Nov. 15, at 6 p.m. ET from Knoxville, Tenn. ESPN2 is also the home for: Jimmy V Women’s Classic Presented by Corona Extra on a new night – Tuesday, Dec. 6; Big Monday Presented by Bud Light – starting Jan. 16 through the end of February; and Play 4Kay on Sunday and Monday, Feb. 12 and 13 - which includes contest on ESPNU and ESPN3.

 

ESPNU will offer 40 games, including 23 regular-season and 17 conference championship matchups. The 24-hour college sports network begins its 2011-12 women’s basketball coverage at the defending national champions Texas A&M vs. Louisville at 4 p.m. as part of the College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon. ESPNU will again serve as the host network for the sixth annual Maggie Dixon Classic on Sunday, Dec. 11 from Madison Square Garden, featuring Baylor vs. St. John’s at 11 a.m. and DePaul against Tennessee at 1 p.m. ESPNU showcases at least one game each Sunday in January and February, highlighted by several doubleheaders.

 

ESPN3 will increase its coverage significantly from one game last year to 29 exclusive games this season, including several top matchups of ACC schools. ESPN 3D will air its first women’s basketball game as part of the Big Monday Presented by Bud Light and Play 4Kay telecast of SEC rivals Kentucky at Tennessee on Feb. 14.

 

Viewers can also watch live ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN3 game action online at WatchESPN.com or on smart phones or tablets through the WatchESPN app. The service – available to video subscribers of Time Warner Cable, Bright House Networks and Verizon FiOS TV – gives fans the ability to watch ESPN’s live networks, no matter where they are.

 

2011-12 Schedule Special Events & Highlights:

 

 

 

 

 

 

ESPN Network’s 2011-12 Women’s Basketball Schedule (Schedule subject to change)

Date Time (ET) Game Network(s)
College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon Presented by Disney Destinations (Nov. 15)
Tue, Nov 15 4 p.m. Louisville at Texas A&M ESPNU
  6 p.m. State Farm Tip-Off Classic:

Miami at Tennessee

ESPN2 / ESPN3
Sun, Nov 20 2 p.m. Tennessee at Virginia ESPN3*
Feast Week Presented by Lowe’s (Nov. 21-27)
Mon, Nov 21 7:30 p.m. Stanford at Connecticut (Hartford, Conn.) ESPNU
Sun, Nov 27 2 p.m. Baylor at Tennessee ESPN / ESPN3
Thu, Dec 1 7 p.m. Purdue at Duke ESPN3*
Mon, Dec 5 7 p.m. Furman at Georgia Southern ESPN3*
Tue, Dec 6 7 p.m. Jimmy V Women’s Classic Presented by Corona Extra (Hartford, Conn.): Texas A&M at Connecticut ESPN2 / ESPN3
Sun, Dec 11 11 a.m. Maggie Dixon Classic (New York City):

Baylor vs. St. John’s

ESPNU
  1 p.m. Maggie Dixon Classic (New York City):

DePaul vs. Tennessee

ESPNU
Tue, Dec 13 7 p.m. Tennessee at Rutgers ESPNU
Holiday Hoops Presented by Kay Jewelers (Dec. 17-24)
Sat, Dec 17 3 p.m. Western Carolina at Samford ESPN3*
Sun, Dec 18 1 p.m. Kentucky at Notre Dame ESPNU
  8:30 p.m. Connecticut at Baylor ESPN / ESPN3
Thu, Jan 5 7 p.m. NC State at Miami ESPNU
Sun, Jan 8 1:30 p.m. Louisville at St. John’s ESPNU
  3:30 p.m. Tennessee at Arkansas ESPNU
Mon, Jan 9 7 p.m. Miami at Georgia Tech ESPN3*
Wed, Jan 11 7 p.m. Old Dominion at VCU ESPN3*
Sun, Jan 15 noon Syracuse at Georgetown ESPNU
  2 p.m. Temple at Dayton ESPN2 / ESPN3
  3:30 p.m. Miami at Florida State ESPNU
  4 p.m. Ohio State at Michigan State ESPN2 / ESPN3
Mon, Jan 16 7 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light

(Storrs, Conn.): North Carolina at Connecticut

ESPN2 / ESPN3
Wed, Jan 18 7 p.m. Duke at Georgia Tech ESPN3*
Thu, Jan 19 6 p.m. Niagara at Canisius ESPN3*
Fri, Jan 20 6 p.m. Loyola (Md.) at Marist ESPNU
Sat, Jan 21 4:30 p.m. Chattanooga at Appalachian State ESPN3*
Sun, Jan 22 1:30 p.m. South Carolina at Vanderbilt ESPNU
  3 p.m. Iowa at Penn State ESPN2 / ESPN3
  3:30 p.m. Maryland at Duke ESPNU
  5 p.m. Louisville at Georgetown ESPN2 / ESPN3
Mon, Jan 23 7 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light:

Tennessee at Notre Dame

ESPN2 / ESPN3
Fri, Jan 27 4 p.m. Manhattan at Fairfield ESPN3*
Sun, Jan 29 1:30 p.m. Rutgers at Georgetown ESPNU
  3 p.m. Penn State at Michigan State ESPN2 / ESPN3
  3:30 p.m. Florida State at Virginia ESPNU
  5 p.m. Tennessee at Georgia ESPN2 / ESPNU
Mon, Jan 30 7 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light:

Connecticut at Duke

ESPN2 / ESPN3
  7 p.m. Elon at Chattanooga ESPN3*
Wed, Feb 1 7 p.m. James Madison at Old Dominion ESPN3*
Sat, Feb 4 4:30 p.m. Marist at Manhattan ESPN3*
Sun, Feb 5 11 a.m. Dayton at Xavier ESPNU
  1 p.m. DePaul at Notre Dame ESPNU
Mon, Feb 6 6 p.m. Samford at Wofford ESPN3*
  7 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light:

North Carolina at Duke

ESPN2 / ESPN3
  9 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light:

Oklahoma at Baylor

ESPN2 / ESPN3
Thu, Feb 9 6 p.m. Siena at St. Peter’s ESPN3*
Fri, Feb 10 4 p.m. Iona at Loyola (Md.) ESPN3*
Play 4Kay (Feb. 12-13)
Sun, Feb 12 2 p.m. Georgia Tech at North Carolina ESPN3*
  2:30 p.m. **Marquette at DePaul ESPN2 / ESPN3
  2:30 p.m. **Miami at Maryland ESPN2 / ESPN3
  2:30 p.m. **Iowa State at Texas Tech ESPN2 / ESPN3
  2:30 p.m. **Arkansas at Auburn ESPN2 / ESPN3
  3 p.m. Drake at Evansville ESPN3*
  3:30 p.m. West Virginia at Notre Dame ESPNU
  5 p.m. **St. John’s at Rutgers ESPN2 / ESPN3
  5 p.m. **Florida at South Carolina ESPN2 / ESPN3
  5 p.m. **Purdue at Ohio State ESPN2 / ESPN3
  5 p.m. **Wake Forest at NC State ESPN2 / ESPN3
Mon, Feb 13 7 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light:

Kentucky at Tennessee

ESPN2 / ESPN3 / ESPN 3D
  9 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light:

Connecticut at Oklahoma

ESPN2 / ESPN3
Tue, Feb 14 7 p.m. Davidson at UNC Greensboro ESPN3*
Wed, Feb 15 7 p.m. North Carolina at Florida State ESPN3*
Sun, Feb 19 1:30 p.m. NC State at North Carolina ESPNU
  3 p.m. Duke at Maryland ESPN2 / ESPN3
  3:30 p.m. Georgia at Florida ESPNU
  5 p.m. Purdue at Michigan State ESPN2 / ESPN3
Judgment Week (Feb. 20-26)
Mon, Feb 20 2 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light:

Notre Dame at Louisville

ESPN / ESPN3
  7 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light:

Ohio State at Penn State

ESPN2 / ESPN3
  7 p.m. Elon at College of Charleston ESPN3*
  9 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light:

Vanderbilt at Kentucky

ESPN2 / ESPN3
Thu, Feb 23 6 p.m. Iona at Marist ESPN3*
  7 p.m. Hofstra at James Madison ESPN3*
Fri, Feb 24 7 p.m. Miami at Duke ESPN3*
Sat, Feb 25 1:30 p.m. Robert Morris at Quinnipiac ESPN3*
Sun, Feb 26 1 p.m. Fairfield at Rider ESPN3*
  1:30 p.m. Kentucky at Mississippi State ESPNU
  3 p.m. Duke at North Carolina ESPN2 / ESPN3
  3:30 p.m. Florida at Tennessee ESPNU
  5 p.m. LSU at Georgia ESPN2 / ESPN3
Mon, Feb 27 7 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light:

Baylor at Texas A&M

ESPN2 / ESPN3
  7 p.m. Appalachian State at Chattanooga ESPN3*
  9 p.m. Big Monday Presented by Bud Light

(Hartford, Conn): Notre Dame at Connecticut

ESPN2 / ESPN3

* - exclusive to ESPN3; ** - regionalized coverage

 

Championship Week Presented by DICK’S Sporting Goods (Schedule subject to change)

Date Time (ET) Game Network(s)
Sat, Mar 3 9:30 a.m. MAAC Championship (Springfield, Mass): Semifinal 1 ESPN3*
  11 a.m. ACC Tournament (Greensboro, N.C.): Semifinal 1 ESPNU
  11:30 a.m. MAAC Championship (Springfield, Mass.): Semifinal 2 ESPN3*
  1:30 p.m. ACC Tournament (Greensboro, N.C.): Semifinal 2 ESPNU
  4 p.m. SEC Tournament (Nashville, Tenn.): Semifinal 1 ESPNU
  6 p.m. SEC Tournament (Nashville, Tenn.): Semifinal 2 ESPNU
Sun, Mar 4 noon BIG EAST Championship Presented by America Eagle Outfitters (Hartford, Conn.): Quarterfinal 1 ESPNU
  2 p.m. ACC Tournament (Greensboro, N.C.): Final ESPN2 / ESPN3
  2 p.m. BIG EAST Championship Presented by America Eagle Outfitters (Hartford, Conn.): Quarterfinal 2 ESPNU
  4 p.m. Big Ten Tournament (Indianapolis, Ind.): Final ESPN2 / ESPN3
  6 p.m. SEC Tournament (Nashville, Tenn.): Final ESPN2 / ESPN
  8:30 p.m. BIG EAST Championship Presented by America Eagle Outfitters (Hartford, Conn.): Quarterfinal 4 ESPNU
Mon, Mar 5 noon MAAC Championship (Springfield, Mass.): Final ESPNU
  3 p.m. West Coast Conference Championship

(Las Vegas): Final

ESPNU
  5 p.m. Atlantic 10 Championship (Philadelphia): Final ESPN2 / ESPN3
  6 p.m. BIG EAST Championship Presented by America Eagle Outfitters (Hartford, Conn.): Semifinal 1 ESPNU
  8 p.m. BIG EAST Championship Presented by America Eagle Outfitters (Hartford, Conn.): Semifinal 2 ESPNU
Tue, Mar 6 2 p.m. Sun Belt Championship (Hot Springs, Ark.): Final ESPNU
  4 p.m. Summit League Championship (Sioux Falls, S.D.): Final ESPNU
  7 p.m. BIG EAST Championship Presented by America Eagle Outfitters (Hartford, Conn.): Final ESPN or ESPN2 / ESPN3
Sat, Mar 10 4 p.m. MEAC Tournament (Winston-Salem, N.C.): Final ESPNU
  6 p.m. SWAC Championship (Dallas): Final   ESPNU
Sun, Mar 11 1 p.m. Horizon League Championship: Final

(campus of higher seed after quarterfinal)

ESPNU
  3 p.m. NEC Tournament: Final

(campus of higher seed)

ESPNU

 

NOTE: ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU & ESPN3’s NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship schedule will be announced at a later date.

 
© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures