“The X Factor” Judges Name Top 12 Finalists

Categories: Network TV Press Releases

Written By

October 25th, 2011

via press release:



Finalists Perform Live for America’s Votes Wednesday, November 2;

First Live Results Show Airs Thursday, November 3


Tonight, after the remaining 17 acts performed, the judges eliminated five acts, revealing THE X FACTOR Top 12 Finalists: Girls – Melanie Amaro, Rachel Crow and Drew; Boys – Astro, Marcus Canty and Chris Rene; Over 30s – LeRoy Bell, Stacy Francis and Josh Krajcik; Groups – InTENsity, Lakoda Rayne and The Stereo Hogzz.


During the extended two-and-a-half-hour episode, Simon Cowell eliminated both Simone Battle and Tiah Tolliver from the Girls; Paula Abdul eliminated The Brewer Boys from the Groups; Nicole Scherzinger eliminated Dexter Haygood from the Over 30s; and L.A. Reid eliminated Phillip Lomax from the Boys.


Next week, the Top 12 Finalists, with the help of their mentors, Simon, Paula, Nicole and L.A., will battle it out for America’s votes, THE X FACTOR title and a $5 million recording contract with Syco/Sony Music. The finalists will work with industry experts including vocal coaches, choreographers and style teams to take their LIVE performances to the next level. Don’t miss the Top 12 Finalists LIVE performance show Wednesday, Nov. 2 (8:00-10:00 PM ET live/PT tape-delayed).


Immediately after the performance show, fans will be able to vote via 1) Twitter at twitter.thexfactorusa.com; 2) Verizon Touch Voting on The Xtra Factor App on Verizon Android devices; 3) toll-free calling; 4) text messaging for Verizon Wireless customers; and 5) online at TheXFactorUSA.com. Fans with valid Facebook accounts can also vote at Facebook.com/TheXFactorUSA.


Then, on Thursday, Nov. 3 (8:00-9:00 PM ET live/PT tape-delayed) tune in to the first LIVE results show of the season as Steve Jones reveals the results of America’s votes and one finalist is eliminated from the competition.


The Top 12 Finalists Are:


The Girls whom Simon Cowell is mentoring:


Melanie Amaro                        Age: 19        

Hometown: Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Currently Resides: Coral Springs, FL/Sunrise, FL


www.twitter.com/itsmelanieamaro (@ItsMelanieAmaro)


Rachel Crow                            Age: 13

Hometown:  Longmont, CO/Mead, CO

Currently Resides: Burbank, CA


www.twitter.com/IamRachelCrow (@IamRachelCrow)




Drew                                        Age: 14

Hometown: Chino Valley, AZ

Currently Resides: Chino Valley, AZ


www.twitter.com/drewryniewicz (@drewryniewicz)



The Boys whom L.A. Reid is mentoring:


Astro                                     Age: 15

Hometown: Brooklyn, NY

Currently Resides: Brooklyn, NY


www.twitter.com/Astronomicalkid (@Astronomicalkid)



Marcus Canty                        Age: 20

Hometown: Bowie, MD

Currently Resides: Bowie, MD


www.twitter.com/IamMarcusCanty (@iammarcuscanty)



Chris Rene                             Age: 28

Hometown: Santa Cruz, CA

Currently Resides: Santa Cruz, CA


www.twitter.com/MrChrisRene (@mrchrisrene)



The Over 30s whom Nicole Scherzinger is mentoring:


LeRoy Bell                             Age: 60

Hometown: Tacoma, WA

Currently Resides: Edmonds, WA/Seattle, WA


www.twitter.com/LeRoyBell (@LeRoyBell)




Stacy Francis                        Age: 42

Hometown:  Brooklyn, NY

Currently Resides: Los Angeles, CA


www.twitter.com/StacyFrancis (@StacyFrancis)




Josh Krajcik                          Age: 30

Hometown: Wooster, OH

Currently Resides: Columbus, OH


www.twitter.com/JoshKrajcik (@JoshKrajcik)



The Groups that Paula Abdul is mentoring:



Nick Dean                               Age: 15           Hometown: Rochester, NY

Francesca Duncan                 Age: 17           Hometown: Orange Co., NY                                                                                                                                                                                     

                                                                            Resides: Brockport, NY

John Lindahl                            Age: 15           Hometown: Travuco Canyon, CA

Emily Michalak                       Age: 13           Hometown: Pine Brook, NJ

Austin Percario                       Age: 15           Hometown: Warren, NJ

Arin Ray                                  Age: 16           Hometown: Cincinnati, OH

Lauren Ashley Redmond       Age: 17            Hometown: Houston, TX                 

                                                                            Resides: DeSoto, TX

Ellona Santiago                       Age: 15           Hometown: San Lorenzo, CA

Ma’at Bingham Shango          Age: 12           Hometown: Houston, TX

Emily Wilson                           Age: 15           Hometown: Warren, NJ


www.twitter.com/its_inTENsity (@its_inTENsity)




Lakoda Rayne

Cari Fletcher                           Age: 17           Hometown: Wall Township, NJ

Dani Knights                            Age: 22           Hometown: Santa Clarita, CA

Paige Ogle                              Age: 18           Hometown: Baltimore, MD

Hayley Orrantia                      Age: 17           Hometown: Highland Village, TX


www.twitter.com/LakodaRayne (@lakodarayne)



The Stereo Hogzz

Kregg Gibson         (aka KG)              Age: 25           Hometown: Houston, TX

Jonathan Glenn      (aka Jon Glenn) Age: 25           Hometown: Houston, TX

George Jenkins III  (aka Trae Badd)  Age: 25           Hometown: Houston, TX

Leeland Stephenson                          Age: 24            Hometown: Houston, TX

(aka Trace Kennedy)

Justin Williams       (aka Just’n)          Age: 25           Hometown: Houston, TX


www.twitter.com/theStereoHogzz (@thestereohogzz)



Visit www.TheXFactorusa.com for up-to-the-minute news, videos and information. Become a fan of THE X FACTOR on Facebook atwww.facebook.com/TheXFactorUSA and follow the series on Twitter @TheXFactorUSA and join the discussion at #XFactor.


THE X FACTOR was created by Syco Television and is produced by Syco Television and FremantleMedia North America. Rob Wade and Siobhan Greene are executive producers for Syco Television. Cecile Frot-Coutaz, Richard Holloway and Andrew Llinares serve as executive producers for FremantleMedia North America.

© 2015 Tribune Digital Ventures