HGTV To Offer Uninterrupted Broadcast Of The 123rd Tournament Of Roses Parade® On January 2

Categories: Press Releases

Written By

November 16th, 2011

via press release:

HGTV TO OFFER UNINTERRUPTED BROADCAST OF THE 123rd TOURNAMENT OF ROSES PARADE® ON JANUARY 2

HGTV Dream Home 2012 Replica Among 44 Spectacular Floats

New York, N.Y. [For Immediate Release—November 16, 2011] A star studded lineup of celebrity hosts and a spectacular 3D broadcast experience will enhance the home viewing of HGTV’s annual live, commercial-free coverage of the 123rd Tournament of Roses Parade® featuring Grand Marshal J.R. Martinez. Viewers will enjoy a front row seat for the parade on Monday, January 2 at 11:00 a.m. ET / 8:00 a.m. PT as Emmy® Award-winning entertainment reporter Nancy O’Dell joins internationally acclaimed landscape designer/HGTV host Jamie Durie of The Outdoor Room and television producer/host Robb Weller on the announcer’s platform for this year’s festivities. In addition, for the first time HGTV will broadcast the pageantry live in 3D to homes where it is available.

HGTV will feature its own float----a spectacular replica of the HGTV Dream Home 2012. The float will include appearances by designers John Gidding, Curb Appeal; Casey Noble, Design on a Dime; and contractors/designers Anthony Carrino and John Colaneri, hosts of Kitchen Cousins.

Durie, along with Entertainment Tonight’s O’Dell, also host of HGTV’s upcoming series Celebrities at Home (w.t.), and Weller, an 11-year veteran of the network’s Rose Parade telecasts, will provide a wealth of information and unique perspectives on each breathtaking floral float, band and equestrian unit.

HGTV’s comprehensive parade coverage also will include a special appearance by DIY Network host Matt Blashaw of Professional Grade who will be stationed street-side to conduct celebrity interviews and keep home viewers posted on the status of their favorite float as it travels along the legendary five-and-a-half mile parade route down Colorado Boulevard in Pasadena, California.

Blashaw will host an hour special, Rose Parade Countdown, immediately preceding the parade on Jan 2 at 10 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. PT. He’ll give viewers a backstage pass to the building of the HGTV float, including interviews with some of the 1,200 volunteers who spend approximately 20,000 hours getting the floats ready for the big parade.

Immediately following the parade coverage, viewers will want to stay tuned for an encore presentation of the HGTV Dream Home 2012 special at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT. Complementing the network's television coverage, HGTV.com will have additional details on the making of the parade’s floral displays, including the HGTV Dream Home 2012 float.

 
© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures