NBC Schedule for the Final Day of the Olympics

Categories: Network TV Press Releases

Written By

August 12th, 2012

via press release:

Live Daytime Coverage on NBC Featuring Team USA Men’s Basketball Gold Medal Final vs. Spain at 10 a.m. ET Today on NBC

 

 

London Gold on NBC at 7 p.m. ET/PT

 

Closing Ceremony on NBC at 8:30 p.m. ET/PT

 

Men’s Basketball, Water Polo and Handball Live on NBC Sports Network

 

Men’s Mountain Bike Cycling Gold Medal Final Live on MSNBC at 8:30 a.m. ET

 

*** SPECIAL PROGRAMMING NOTE ***

 

NBC’s Daytime Sunday Coverage LIVE to All Time Zones

 

 

*Sunday Night Programming Reminder: As previously announced, NBC will air a full episode of a commercial-free network preview of the new comedy, “Animal Practice,” immediately following the Closing Ceremony

 

 

LONDON – August 11, 2012 – Today’s daytime coverage on NBC will be live across all time zones featuring Team USA men’s basketball competing vs. Spain in the gold medal final at 10 a.m. ET/9 a.m. CT/8a.m. MT/7 a.m. PT.

 

NBC’s live daytime coverage also includes gold medal finals of men’s volleyball featuring Russia vs. Brazil, men’s water polo featuring Croatia vs. Italy, freestyle wrestling and rhythmic group gymnastics.

 

NBC’s Olympic primetime host Bob Costas will host the London 2012 Olympic Games Closing Ceremony from Olympic Stadium alongside co-hosts Al Michaels, the host of NBC’s Olympic daytime coverage, and Ryan Seacrest, Olympic primetime correspondent. The Closing Ceremony will follow London Gold, a special presentation of the top moments and athletes of the 2012 Olympics. Coverage begins Sunday at 7 p.m. ET/PT. As previously announced, NBC will air a full episode of a commercial-free network preview of the new comedy, “Animal Practice,” immediately following the Closing Ceremony.

 

LONDON CLOSING PARTY: Following late local news is the London Closing Party, with special musical guests, which will wrap up the unprecedented 5,535 hours of coverage from the London Olympic Games.

 

For more information on live streaming, please go to: NBCOlympics.com/LiveExtra

 

For the full schedule of NBCUniversal’s Olympic coverage, please go to: NBCOlympics.com

 

For press information, bios, photos and releases, please go to: NBCSportsGroupPressBox.com

 

Listings subject to change (all times ET unless otherwise noted). Changes are italicized.

 

 

SUNDAY, AUGUST 12 (Day 16)

 

NBC

 

6 a.m. – 9 a.m. ET

 

5 a.m. – 8 a.m. CT

 

4 a.m. – 7 a.m. MT

 

3 a.m. – 6 p.m. PT

 

Men’s Marathon (LIVE)

 

· LIVE coverage of the men’s marathon, a final chance for viewers to re-live the majestic sights of London, as the race cuts right through the heart of the city.

 

10 a.m. – 6 p.m. ET

 

9 a.m. – 5 p.m. CT

 

8 a.m. – 4 p.m. MT

 

7 a.m. – 3 p.m. PT

 

Men’s Basketball – Gold Medal Final: U.S. vs. Spain (LIVE)

 

Men’s Volleyball – Gold Medal Final: Russia vs. Brazil

 

Men’s Water Polo – Gold Medal Final: Croatia vs. Italy

 

Wrestling – Freestyle Gold Medal Finals

 

Gymnastics – Rhythmic Group Gold Medal Final

 

· Five gold medal finals highlight the final day of competition, including LIVE coverage of the men’s basketball final. Twenty years after the original Dream Team, the United States men’s basketball team expects to be playing for a second straight gold. Plus the men’s volleyball gold medal final, where the U.S. is the reigning Olympic champion. Plus, the gold medal game in men’s water polo. Also finals in men’s volleyball, rhythmic gymnastics and freestyle wrestling.

 

7 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. (ET/PT)

 

“London Gold”

 

 

8:30 p.m. – 10:58 p.m. (ET/PT)

 

Closing Ceremony

 

10:58 p.m. – 11:20 p.m. (ET/PT)

 

Animal Practice

 

 

Midnight – 12:35 a.m. (ET/PT)

 

London Closing Party

 

NBC SPORTS NETWORK

 

6 a.m. – 6 p.m.

 

Men’s Basketball – Bronze Medal: Argentina vs. Russia (LIVE)

 

Men’s Volleyball – Bronze Medal: Bulgaria vs. Italy

 

Men’s Water Polo – Bronze Medal: Montenegro vs. Serbia (LIVE)

 

Men’s Handball –

 

 

Gold Medal Final: Sweden vs. France (LIVE)

 

Bronze Medal: Hungary vs. Croatia

 

 

Women’s Modern Pentathlon – Gold Medal Final

 

 

NBC SPORTS NETWORK HIGHLIGHTS

 

· Olympic medals are awarded in five sports, including LIVE coverage of the bronze medal games in men’s basketball and men’s water polo, plus the gold medal game in men’s handball.

 

MSNBC

 

7 a.m. – 11 a.m.

 

Men’s Water Polo – U.S. vs. Australia

 

Men’s Cycling – Mountain Bike Gold Medal Final (LIVE)

 

Wrestling – Freestyle Qualifying

 

MSNBC HIGHLIGHTS

 

· LIVE coverage of the men’s mountain bike gold medal final as cyclists look to master their competition and the challenging terrain.

 

CNBC

 

8:30 a.m. – 11 a.m.

 

Boxing – Men’s Gold Medal Finals (LIVE)

 

NBC OLYMPIC BASKETBALL CHANNEL

 

6 a.m. – 6 p.m.

 

Men’s Basketball – Gold Medal Final: U.S. vs. Spain (LIVE)

 

 

NBC OLYMPIC SOCCER CHANNEL

 

10 a.m. – 10 p.m.

 

Men’s Soccer – Gold Medal Final Encore

 

TELEMUNDO

 

9 a.m. – 3 p.m. (ET/PT)

 

Men’s Volleyball – Gold Medal Final

 

Men’s Track and Field – Marathon

 

Boxing – Gold Medal Finals

 

Gymnastics – Rhythmic Gold Medal Final

 

Men’s Basketball – Gold Medal Final

 

 

Midnight – 2:30 a.m. (ET/PT)

 

Closing Ceremony

 

3D

 

4 a.m. – 6:30 p.m.

 

Track and Field – Gold Medal Finals

 

Men’s Diving – Platform Gold Medal Final

 

Men’s Basketball – Semifinals

 

 

 

MONDAY, AUGUST 13

 

 

3D

 

5 a.m. – 7:30 p.m.

 

Closing Ceremony

 

Men’s Basketball –

 

 

Gold Medal Final

 

Bronze Medal

 

 

Women’s Basketball –

 

 

Gold Medal Final

 

Bronze Medal

 

 

 

 
  • a p garcia

    Too many previews of comedies that should go back to the drawing board. Too many commercials execpt for preview of series. I get it that commercials pay the bills, but “NO COMMERCIALS” in series previews!

  • Joseph

    NBC should have cut back the highlights from 90 minutes to an hour, and this way, the “closing party” would have been shown from 10:30 to 11 P.M. EDT.

© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures