Nielsen: 66.8 Million Tune Into Election Coverage in Primetime, Down 6% From 2008

Categories: Broadcast TV,Cable TV

Written By

November 7th, 2012

via Nielsen:

An estimated 66.8 million people tuned in during primetime to watch the news coverage for the presidential election as well as the Senate, Congressional and state-level elections.

While coverage varied by network, 13 networks aired live coverage from approximately 8:00PM to 11:00PM. The chart below highlights the sum of the average audience for these networks.

2012 Election Night Coverage – November 6, 2012
8-11 PM
Sum of Networks Live + Same Day
rating Number of Viewers
All Households
39.8
45,464,000
Persons 2+
23.0
66,840,000
Persons 18-34
20.0
13,522,000
Persons 35-54
26.0
20,880,000
Persons 55+
33.2
25,891,000

For comparison, here are the figures for the 2008 election night coverage:

2008 Election Night Coverage – November 4, 2008
8-11pm ET/7-10pm CT/6-9pm MT/5-8pm PT
LIVE FEED/LIVE+SD DATA STREAM
Rating Number of Viewers
All Households
41.5
47,508,000
Persons 2+
24.5
71,474,000

2012 Networks Included:
ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC, PBS, Univision, Telemundo, CNBC, CNN, FOX News Channel, MSNBC, Current TV, TV One.

2008 Networks Included:
ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, Univision, Telemundo, BBC America, BET, CNBC, CNN, FOX News Channel, MSNBC, TV One, WGN-America.

 
  • DW

    to be fair. there was a Emily Owens repeat that was a must see. :)

  • Tyson

    You’re right, DW. Emily Owens, MD was the difference. What a beast! :)

  • Ryan

    So the Super Bowl on one network beats election coverage across 13 networks. Sounds about right. God bless America!

© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures