Redskins-Cowboys; RGIII vs. Romo Flexed Into Final 'Sunday Night Football' Game

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Unsurprisingly the winner-takes-the-NFC-East-Crown showdown between the Dallas Cowboys and Washington Redskins next Sunday has been flexed into the final regular season Sunday Night Football match-up.

For those unaware, Fox and CBS can protect games during most of the flex-period, but in the final week of the season they can’t protect games. Still, it is the NFL, not NBC who makes the final decision for the last week of the season. NBC naturally lobbied to have the winner-takes-all game featuring the Cowboys (ratings gold) vs. their primary rival. And of course Fox lobbied to keep the game.  In week 17 it is the  NFL that must walk the fine line of keeping all their partners happy. Sadly for Fox, it was a “hey, you signed up for this deal” situation.

As a D.C. native who now lives on the west coast, I couldn’t be happier.

Via the NFL:

WEEK 17 FLEX SCHEDULING:

 

COWBOYS-REDSKINS TO BE NBC SUNDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL GAME ON DEC. 30;

DOLPHINS-PATRIOTS MOVES TO 4:25 PM ET ON CBS;

PACKERS-VIKINGS TO 4:25 PM ET ON FOX

 

 

The Week 17 Dallas Cowboys at Washington Redskins game on Sunday, December 30 will be played at 8:20 PM ET on NBC, the Miami Dolphins at New England Patriots game will move to 4:25 PM ET on CBS and the Green Bay Packers at Minnesota Vikings game will move to 4:25 PM ET on FOX, the NFL announced today.

 

Most markets will see four Sunday afternoon games (two on CBS and two on FOX) plus the NBC Sunday night game with the NFL’s Week 17 double doubleheader schedule, which was introduced in 2006.

 

Following is the Week 17 NFL schedule (asterisk and bold/italics represents changed game time):

 

SUNDAY, DECEMBER 30 (WEEK 17)

TAMPA BAY AT ATLANTA

1:00 PM (ET)

FOX

N.Y. JETS AT BUFFALO

1:00 PM (ET)

CBS

BALTIMORE AT CINCINNATI

1:00 PM (ET)

CBS

CHICAGO AT DETROIT

1:00 PM (ET)

FOX

HOUSTON AT INDIANAPOLIS

1:00 PM (ET)

CBS

CAROLINA AT NEW ORLEANS

12:00 PM (CT)

FOX

PHILADELPHIA AT N.Y. GIANTS

1:00 PM (ET)

FOX

CLEVELAND AT PITTSBURGH

1:00 PM (ET)

CBS

JACKSONVILLE AT TENNESSEE

12:00 PM (CT)

CBS

KANSAS CITY AT DENVER

2:25 PM (MT)

CBS

GREEN BAY AT MINNESOTA*

3:25 PM (CT)

FOX

MIAMI AT NEW ENGLAND*

4:25 PM (ET)

CBS

OAKLAND AT SAN DIEGO

1:25 PM (PT)

CBS

ARIZONA AT SAN FRANCISCO

1:25 PM (PT)

FOX

ST. LOUIS AT SEATTLE

1:25 PM (PT)

FOX

DALLAS AT WASHINGTON*

8:20 PM (ET)

NBC

The NFL utilizes “flexible scheduling” on Sundays in Weeks 11-17 to ensure quality matchups in all NFL Sunday time slots.

blog comments powered by Disqus