NBC and NBC Sports Network to Air 70 NHL Games in 2013

Categories: Network TV Press Releases

Written By

January 13th, 2013

via press release:

NBC AND NBC SPORTS NETWORK TO AIR 70 NHL REGULAR-SEASON GAMES IN 2013

 

 

14 Regular-Season Windows on NBC, Most Ever For Network

 

Wednesday Night is Rivalry Night on NBC Sports Network

 

Coverage Begins Sat., Jan. 19 with L.A. Kings Banner Raising on NBC, Followed by Regional Coverage of Blackhawks at Kings and Penguins at Flyers

 

NBC Sports Network Coverage Begins Sun., Jan. 20 with Blackhawks at Coyotes at 10 p.m. ET

 

Studio Shows NHL Live and NHL Overtime to Originate from New NBC Sports Group International Broadcast Center in Stamford, Conn.

 

Hockey Day in America Features Doubleheader on NBC Followed by Evening Game on NBC Sports Network

 

 

NEW YORK -- Jan. 13, 2013 — NBC Sports Group will air 70 NHL regular-season games across NBC and NBC Sports Network this season. The schedule includes 14 exclusive windows (15 games) on NBC, the most regular-season windows ever for the network, as well as 24 exclusive windows and 26 exclusive games on NBC Sports Network.

 

Coverage begins the weekend of Jan. 19-20 with the NBC Sports Group presenting four games over two days, three on NBC and one on NBC Sports Network. Additional scheduling highlights include the Los Angeles Kings’ Stanley Cup championship banner raising, a Hockey Day in America tripleheader, and the start of rivalry nights on Wednesday night on NBC Sports Network. According to the National Hockey League, which released the schedule today, all games will be intra-conference with an emphasis on divisional play.

 

OPENING WEEK: NBC drops the puck on its coverage at 3 p.m. ET on Saturday, January 19 with NHL Live, featuring the Stanley Cup champion L.A. Kings’ banner raising. Following the ceremony, NBC offers regional coverage of the Kings hosting the Chicago Blackhawks (puck drop at 3:25 p.m. ET) and the Philadelphia Flyers hosting the Pittsburgh Penguins (3:35 p.m. ET).

 

On Sun., Jan. 20 at 12:30 p.m. ET, NBC returns with the Buffalo Sabres hosting the Flyers. NBC Sports Network begins its season Sunday night by televising the Phoenix Coyotes at the Chicago Blackhawks at 10 p.m. ET. It continues coverage with a game on three consecutive nights from Monday through Wednesday.

 

Following is the Opening Week schedule (all times ET):

 

Date

Away

Home

Time

Network

 

Sat., January 19

NHL Live

Banner Raising

3:00 p.m.

NBC

 

Sat., January 19

Chicago

Los Angeles

3:25 p.m.

NBC

 

Sat., January 19

Pittsburgh

Philadelphia

3:35 p.m.

NBC

 

Sun., January 20

Philadelphia

Buffalo

12:30 p.m.

NBC

 

Sun., January 20

Chicago

Phoenix

10 p.m.

NBCSN

 

Mon., January 21

Detroit

Columbus

7:30 p.m.

NBCSN

 

Tues., January 22

Philadelphia

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

NBCSN

 

Wed., January 23

Boston

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

NBCSN

 

 

 

WEDNESDAY NIGHT IS RIVALRY NIGHT: NBC Sports Network’s exclusive Wednesday night coverage will now feature some of the biggest rivalries in the NHL, including Bruins-Canadiens and Flyers-Penguins. The network will air exclusive coverage Wednesday nights giving NHL fans four straight nights of hockey action, Sunday-Wednesday, during most weeks. Rivalry Nights begin Wednesday, January 23 with the Bruins and Rangers facing off in another Boston-New York contest. Following are NBC Sports Network’s 2013 Rivalry Nights:

 

Date

Away

Home

Time

 

January 23

Boston

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

 

January 30

Chicago

Minnesota

8 p.m.

 

February 6

Boston

Montreal

7:30 p.m.

 

February 13

St. Louis

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

 

February 20

Philadelphia

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

 

February 20

St. Louis

Colorado

10 p.m.

 

February 27

Washington

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

 

March 6

Colorado

Chicago

8 p.m.

 

March 13

Philadelphia

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

 

March 20

Minnesota

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

 

March 27

Montreal

Boston

7:30 p.m.

 

April 3

Pittsburgh

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

 

April 10

Boston

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

 

April 17

Buffalo

Boston

7:30 p.m.

 

April 24

Los Angeles

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

 

 

 

HOCKEY DAY IN AMERICA: In its third year, Hockey Day in America will celebrate America’s passion for hockey on Sunday, February 17, featuring more than nine hours of coverage, including three games and six teams from some of the most avid U.S. hockey markets across both NBC and NBC Sports Network. In addition, coverage will include compelling features that tell the story of America’s passion for hockey.

 

Coverage begins at Noon ET on NBC with NHL Live. The first two broadcasts on NBC are Pittsburgh at Buffalo at 12:30 p.m. ET and Los Angeles at Chicago at 3:30 p.m. ET. The final game of the celebration is between Washington at the New York Rangers at 6 p.m. ET and airs on NBC Sports Network. (All times ET and subject to change)

 

Time

Away

Home

Network

 

Noon

NHL Live

 

NBC

 

12:30

Pittsburgh

Buffalo

NBC

 

3:30

Los Angeles

Chicago

NBC

 

6:00

Washington

N.Y. Rangers

NBC Sports Network

 

 

 

NBC SPORTS GROUP OPENS STATE-OF-THE ART STUDIOS: NHL studio programming throughout the 2013 season will originate from the NBC Sports Group’s new, state-of-the-art International Broadcast Center located in Stamford, Conn. The first studio programming will air on NBC on Saturday, Jan. 19, prior to the two regional games.

 

NHL Live is NBC Sports Network’s live pre- and post-show with highlights and analysis of NHL matchups before and after every game. It traditionally airs a half-hour prior to live-event coverage. NHL Overtime airs Monday-Wednesday nights after NHL telecasts. It examines all NHL games played that night with news, highlights, and analysis.

 

FLEX SCHEDULING ON NBC: For the sixth consecutive season, the NHL and NBC Sports Group will utilize flex scheduling, which provides the ability to select from up to four games on Sunday afternoons. At least 13 days prior to the scheduled games, the NHL and NBC will announce which game will air. Following are the current games scheduled for NBC:

 

NBC 2012-13 NHL regular-season schedule (all times ET, subject to change):

 

Date

Away

Home

Time

 

Saturday, January 19

Chicago

Los Angeles

3:25 p.m.

 

Saturday, January 19

Pittsburgh

Philadelphia

3:35 p.m.

 

Sunday, January 20

Philadelphia

Buffalo

12:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, February 3

Pittsburgh

Washington

12:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, February 10

Los Angeles

Detroit

12:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, February 17

Pittsburgh

Buffalo

12:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, February 17

Los Angeles

Chicago

3:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 3

Chicago

Detroit

12:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 10

N.Y. Rangers

Washington

12:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 17

Boston

Pittsburgh

12:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 31

Chicago

Detroit

12:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 7

St. Louis

Detroit

12:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 14

Chicago

St. Louis

12:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 21

New Jersey

N.Y. Rangers

3 p.m.

 

Saturday, April 27

New Jersey

N.Y. Rangers

3 p.m.

 

 

 

NBC Sports Network 2012-13 NHL regular-season schedule (all times ET, subject to change):

 

Date

Away

Home

Time

 

Sunday, January 20

Chicago

Phoenix

10 p.m.

 

Monday, January 21

Detroit

Columbus

7:30 p.m.

 

Tuesday, January 22

Philadelphia

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, January 23

Boston

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, January 27

Minnesota

St. Louis

8 p.m.

 

Tuesday, January 29

N.Y. Islanders

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, January 30

Chicago

Minnesota

8 p.m.

 

Monday, February 4

Dallas

Colorado

9 p.m.

 

Tuesday, February 5

Tampa Bay

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, February 6

Boston

Montreal

7:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, February 10

New Jersey

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

 

Monday, February 11

Los Angeles

St. Louis

9 p.m.

 

Tuesday, February 12

N.Y. Rangers

Boston

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, February 13

St. Louis

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, February 17

Washington

N.Y. Rangers

6 p.m.

 

Tuesday, February 19

San Jose

St. Louis

8 p.m.

 

Wednesday, February 20

Philadelphia

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, February 20

St. Louis

Colorado

10 p.m.

 

Sunday, February 24

Tampa Bay

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

 

Monday, February 25

Dallas

Nashville

8 p.m.

 

Tuesday, February 26

Boston

N.Y. Islanders

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, February 27

Washington

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 3

Montreal

Boston

7:30 p.m.

 

Monday, March 4

Tampa Bay

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

 

Tuesday, March 5

Philadelphia

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, March 6

Colorado

Chicago

8 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 10

Buffalo

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

 

Tuesday, March 12

Philadelphia

Boston

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, March 13

Philadelphia

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 17

Buffalo

Washington

7:30 p.m.

 

Monday, March 18

Philadelphia

Tampa Bay

7:30 p.m.

 

Tuesday, March 19

Washington

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, March 20

Minnesota

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 24

Washington

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

 

Monday, March 25

Los Angeles

Chicago

8 p.m.

 

Tuesday, March 26

Philadelphia

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, March 27

Montreal

Boston

7:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, March 31

Washington

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

 

Monday, April 1

Colorado

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

 

Tuesday, April 2

Buffalo

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 3

Pittsburgh

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 7

New Jersey

Buffalo

7:30 p.m.

 

Tuesday, April 9

Chicago

Minnesota

8 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 10

Boston

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

 

Thursday, April 11

Pittsburgh

Tampa Bay

7:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 14

Detroit

Nashville

7:30 p.m.

 

Monday, April 15

Dallas

Chicago

8 p.m.

 

Tuesday, April 16

NY Rangers

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 17

Buffalo

Boston

7:30 p.m.

 

Thursday, April 18

New Jersey

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

 

Sunday, April 21

St. Louis

Colorado

7:30 p.m.

 

Monday, April 22

Montreal

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

 

Tuesday, April 23

Boston

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 24

Los Angeles

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

 

Thursday, April 25

Pittsburgh

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

 

Saturday, April 27

TBD

TBD

7:30 p.m.

 

Saturday, April 27

TBD

TBD

10 p.m.

 

 

 

 

 
  • iggy agrimotor

    That’s only 30 less than the full season.

  • kyle

    god that was a long press release

  • Winning C.

    YEAH! HOCKEY IS BACK!

  • Joseph

    NBC must figure that with Tim Thomas gone, the Boston Bruins won’t be a factor, and as a result, they get just one game on NBC’s broadcast network.

© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures