Univision Strikes Ratings Gold with Live Soccer Coverage of CONCACAF Copa Oro Tourney

Categories: Network TV Press Releases

Written By

July 8th, 2013

copa oro

via press release:

UNIVISION STRIKES GOLD WITH LIVE SOCCER COVERAGE OF CONCACAF COPA ORO TOURNEY

 

Opening Gold Cup Matches are Top Two Most Social Broadcast Sports Events on Sunday


MIAMI – JULY 8, 2013 – Univision Deportes, the sports arm of Univision Communications Inc., the leading media company serving Hispanic America, kicked off its exclusive live Spanish-language coverage of the CONCACAF Copa Oro (Gold Cup) biennial soccer tournament last night, with millions of fans tuning in to watch the opening matches.  The premier event for FIFA’s North American, Central American and Caribbean confederation began with Canada vs. Martinique followed by Mexico vs. Panama, airing from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. EDT on Sunday, July 7 on the Univision Network, with 3.2 million and 5.8 million viewers, respectively, tuning in to all or part of the contests.

 

  • Canada vs. Martinique (5:11 to 7:36 p.m. EDT) reached 3.2 million viewers who tuned in to all or part of the broadcast. The match averaged 1,228,000 persons 2+; 657,000 Adults 18-49; and 271,000 Adults 18-34 on the Univision Network
  • Mexico vs. Panama (7:44 to 10:08 p.m. EDT) reached 5.8 million viewers who tuned in to all or part of the broadcast. The match averaged 3,316,000 persons 2+; 2,012,000 Adults 18-49; and 998,000 Adults18-34 on the Univision Network

 

In social media, the Gold Cup match between Mexico and Panama was the most social broadcast sports event on Sunday, regardless of language, while the match between Canada and Martinique came in second (Source: SocialGuide and Trendrr).  The Univision Network ranked as the No. 1 broadcast network in social activity on the day of the matches (Source: Trendrr).

 

Additionally, Univision’s coverage of the Gold Cup match between Canada and Martinique made Univision the highest viewed broadcast station during the time period among:

  • Among Persons 2+ and Adults 18-49 in Los Angeles, Houston, Dallas, San Francisco and Sacramento
  • Among Adults 18-34 in Los Angeles, Houston, Dallas and Sacramento

 

The match between Mexico and Panama made Univision the highest viewed broadcast station during the time period among:

  • Among Persons 2+ in Los Angeles, Houston, Dallas and San Francisco
  • Among Adults 18-34 in Los Angeles, Houston, Dallas, Chicago, San Francisco and Sacramento
  • Among Adults 18-49 in Los Angeles, Houston, Dallas, Chicago, San Francisco, Phoenix and Sacramento

 

Live streaming of all 2013 Copa Oro matches is being made available in the U.S. and Puerto Rico at UnivisionDeportes.com, online and on the mobile web, and features a Facebook plug-in with real-time commentary from fans. In-depth online and mobile coverage is updated as the tournament unfolds, including online video game highlights, daily stats and standings, the latest news, calendars and more. In addition, fans can join the conversation regarding the Copa Oro on Twitter via @UnivisionSports and tweeting with the hashtag #UDCopaOro as well as comment along with others on Facebook.com/UnivisionDeportes. The Facebook page will feature a match predictor app that will allow fans to guess the scores of all games and compete for the top spot on the leader board. For a schedule of Copa Oro live streams online, visit: http://futbol.univision.com/copa-oro/calendario/.

 

Additionally, each match was telecast by the Univision Deportes Network, and featured a half-hour of pre-game coverage on “Futbol Central” (Soccer Central) with special guests offering their analysis of the upcoming matches. The action continues throughout the month with the final match of the Copa Oro airing on Univision and Univision Deportes Network on Sunday, July 28 live from Solider Field in Chicago (see below for full schedule).

 

Copa Oro 2013 Television Schedule:

 

Date Match Live Pre-Game Coverage Kick Off Time Network
July 8, 2013 El Salvador vs. Trinidad & Tobago “Futbol Central” at 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT UDN
July 8, 2013 Haiti vs. Honduras “Futbol Central” at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT UDN
July 9, 2013 Costa Rica vs. Cuba “Futbol Central” at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT 8:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 9, 2013 Belize vs. USA “Futbol Central” at 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT 11 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 11, 2013 Panama vs. Martinique “Futbol Central” at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT 8:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 11, 2013 México vs. Canada “Futbol Central” at 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT 11 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 12, 2013 Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti “Futbol Central” at 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 12, 2013 Honduras vs. El Salvador “Futbol Central” at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 13, 2013 USA vs. Cuba “Futbol Central” at 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT Univision/UDN
July 13, 2013 Costa Rica vs. Belize “Futbol Central” at 5:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. PT 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT Univision/UDN
July 14, 2013 Panama vs. Canada “Futbol Central” at 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT Univision/UDN
July 14, 2013 Martinique vs. México “Futbol Central” at 5:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. PT 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT Univision/UDN
July 15, 2013 El Salvador vs. Haiti “Futbol Central” at 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 15, 2013 Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago “Futbol Central” at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 16, 2013 Cuba vs. Belize “Futbol Central” at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT 5:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. PT UDN
July 16, 2013 USA vs. Costa Rica “Futbol Central” at 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 20, 2013 TBA vs. TBA “Futbol Central” at 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT Univision/UDN
July 20, 2013 TBA vs. TBA “Futbol Central” at 5:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. PT 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT Univision/UDN
July 21, 2013 TBA vs. TBA “Futbol Central” at 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT Univision/UDN
July 21, 2013 TBA vs. TBA “Futbol Central” at 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT Univision/UDN
July 24, 2013 TBA vs. TBA “Futbol Central” at 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 24, 2013 TBA vs. TBA “Futbol Central” at 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT UniMás/UDN
July 28, 2013 TBA vs. TBA “Futbol Central” at 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT Univision/UDN

 

Established in 1991, Copa Oro has become the region’s most popular soccer event, routinely drawing capacity crowds and millions of viewers across the nation. The tournament features the best players from the region, with Mexico and the United States holding the most Copa Oro titles. Held across the U.S., the 12 teams that will Face Off in the 2013 tournament are: Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Martinique, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago and USA. Beginning in 2015, the winners of two successive Copa Oro (the 2013 and 2015 editions in the first instance) will face each other in a playoff to determine the CONCACAF entrant to the next Confederations Cup. If the same team has won the Gold Cup on both relevant occasions, there will be no playoff and that team will automatically qualify for the Confederations Cup.

 

Source:  The Nielsen Company, NPM (07/07/13), L+SD data.  Nielsen Fast Nationals, reach figures based on Nielsen Fast Cume Report. Match ratings based on 530p-736p and 8p-10p time periods. The Nielsen Company, NSI (07/07/13), Canada vs. Martinique game time 5:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m., Mexico vs. Panama game time 8:00 p.m-10:00 p.m. ET, live game across time zones. Live+ SD data.

 
  • Ivan

    Great news for football! The popularity of the game is growing daily. With Wednesday night’s semis featuring USA, Mexico and Honduras, the tv ratings should skyrocket!

© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures