Key & Peele to Host the 29th Annual Television Critics Association Awards

Categories: Network TV Press Releases

Written By

July 9th, 2013

Key & Peele

Comedians Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele , stars of Comedy Central's Key & Peele have been tapped as hosts of the 29th annual Television Critics Association Awards. The non-televised ceremony will take place Saturday, August 3.

via press release:

“We are so honored to be receiving this awar…Oh. Hosting? Yes! That’s what we meant,” said Key and Peele about being named as hosts of the awards program.

Key and Peele join an impressive list of luminaries who have previously hosted the TCA Awards, including Bryan Cranston, Conan O’Brien, Drew Carey, Craig Ferguson, Wanda Sykes, the Smothers Brothers, Nick Offerman, Dax Shepard and Bob Newhart.

Nominations for the 29th Annual TCA Awards were announced in June. The nominations for current programming were spread across all four broadcast networks — ABC, CBS, NBC and Fox — PBS, 13 cable networks and the Internet streaming service Netflix. FX leads the way with seven nominations; CBS, NBC and HBO each have six; and AMC has five.

The nominees include a number of past winners — Louis C.K., Bryan Cranston and shows ranging from “Mad Men” to “Game of Thrones” and “The Daily Show” to “The Big Bang Theory.” But there are also a number of first-time nominees, including “Orphan Black” and its star, Tatiana Maslany, “The Glee Project” and “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood.” For a complete listing of all the TCA Award nominees, visit the TCA’s website at


The TCA nominates and votes on awards as an organization, and the process is not open to solicitation or submissions. In all, 12 awards will be presented for programming that has made an impact this past TV season. The TCA also bestows a Heritage Award trophy to one long-standing program that has culturally or socially influenced society and a Career Achievement Award to an individual who has inspired his/her work in television.


© 2015 Tribune Digital Ventures