CBS Sports Broadcasts 'RBC Canadian Open' on July 27 & 28

Categories: Press Releases

Written By

July 25th, 2013

PGA Logo

via press release:



The RBC CANADIAN OPEN, Canada’s national championship, returns to Glen Abbey Golf Club in Oakville, Ontario with a strong field that includes 11 major championship winners and nine of the top 30 in current FedExCup standings with only four weeks remaining before the start of the FedExCup Playoffs.  CBS Sports covers all the action from outside Toronto, broadcasting the third and final rounds on Saturday, July 27 and Sunday, July 28 (3:00-6:00 PM, ET, both days), live on the CBS Television Network.

Jim Nantz, three-time Emmy Award-winner and five-time National Sportscaster of the Year, now in his 28th year at CBS Sports, serves as anchor of CBS Sports’ golf coverage. Ian Baker-Finch joins Nantz in the 18th tower for the RBC Canadian Open.  Gary McCord calls the action at the 17th hole and Matt Gogel at the 16th and on-course after play goes through.


Lance Barrow is Coordinating Producer of CBS Sports’ golf coverage. Steve Milton directs.  Harold Bryant is Executive Producer and Vice President, Production, CBS Sports.


Last year, Scott Piercy had a one-stroke victory over Robet Garrigus and William McGirt at the RBC Canadian Open at Hamilton Golf & Country Club.  The last Canadian to win this tournament was Pat Fletcher in 1954. Canada’s only major championship winner, Mike Weir (2003 Masters®), has yet to win the Canadian Open but came close in 2004 when he lost in a playoff to Vijay Singh. Weir, in his 23nd start at the Open, is part of an impressive field that includes 2012 FedExCup champ Brandt Snedeker, Matt Kuchar, Bubba Watson, Ernie Els, Hunter Mahan, Dustin Johnson, Graeme McDowell, Geoff Ogilvy, Charl Schwartzel, Graham DeLaet, Billy Horschel, Jim Furyk, Y.E. Yang, Chris Kirk, Scott Stallings, Luke Donald, Woody Austin, Rory Sabbatini, Camilo Villegas, Bob Estes, Ryo Ishikawa, Jason Bohn, Charlie Wi, Stephen Ames, Kyle Stanley, Stuart Appleby, Charley Hoffman, John Huh, Trevor Immelman, Jeff Overton, Sang-Moon Bae, Piercy, Garrigus and McGirt.

  • Paul Drake

    Mike Weir played as a single in the tour championship in Houston the year Payne Stewart lost his life

© 2015 Tribune Digital Ventures