Action-Packed Hit 'Hawaii Five-0' to Join TNT Lineup Thursday, Aug. 8

Categories: Network TV Press Releases

Written By

July 30th, 2013


via press release:

Action-Packed Hit Hawaii Five-0 to Join TNT Lineup Thursday, Aug. 8

TNT is hitting the beach this summer as the network adds the action-packed drama series Hawaii Five-0 to the primetime lineup. The People’s Choice Award-winning series, which stars Alex O'Loughlin, Scott Caan, Daniel Dae Kim and Grace Park, is set to air on TNT Thursdays at 9 and 10 p.m. (ET/PT), beginning Aug. 8. A complete schedule of episodes running in August is included below.

Hawaii Five-0, which is preparing to launch its fourth season on CBS, comes to TNT from CBS Television Distribution. The series is a contemporary take on the classic show about an elite federalized task force whose mission is to wipe out crime that washes up on the Islands’ sun-drenched beaches.

At the center of Hawaii Five-0 is Detective Steve McGarrett (O’Loughlin), a decorated Naval officer-turned-cop who returns to Oahu to investigate his father’s murder. He then stays after Hawaii’s Governor (Jean Smart) persuades him to head up the new team with his rules, her backing, no red tape and blanket authority to hunt down the biggest “game” in town. Joining McGarrett is Detective Danny "Danno" Williams (Caan), a newly relocated ex-New Jersey cop. He’s a working man in paradise who prefers skyscrapers to the coastline but is committed to keeping the Islands safe for his 8-year-old daughter.

The Five-0 unit also includes Chin Ho Kelly (Kim), an ex-Honolulu Police Detective and former protégé of McGarrett’s father who was wrongly accused of corruption. Chin’s cousin Kono (Park) is a beautiful and fearless native, fresh out of the police academy and eager to establish herself among the department’s elite.

Hawaii Five-0 was named Favorite New Drama by fans voting on the 37th Annual People’s Choice Awards. The show's other accolades include a Best Supporting Actor Golden Globe® nomination for Scott Caan, Emmy® nominations for stunt coordinator Jeff Cadiente and a BMI TV Music Award for Keith Power and Brian Tyler. The show is executive-produced by Peter Lenkov, Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci for CBS Television Studios.

© 2015 Tribune Digital Ventures