The Hub Network Ushers in Halloween With Its Annual Haunted Hub Programming

Categories: Press Releases

Written By

September 5th, 2013

Haunted Hub

via press release:

THE HUB NETWORK USHERS IN HALLOWEEN WITH

ITS ANNUAL HAUNTED HUB PROGRAMMING,

WHICH FEATURES SPINE-TINGLING NEW SERIES AND STUNTS

 

Month-Long Festivities Include the Premiere of Two New Series:

“Sabrina Secrets of a Teenage Witch” Starring Ashley Tisdale and

the Christopher Pike Inspired Series “Spooksville”;

Plus the Star-Studded “Hub Network’s First Annual Halloween Bash”

and New Episodes of the 2013 Daytime Emmy® Award-Winning Series

“R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour: The Series”

 

Lineup Will Also Conjure Up Halloween-Themed Movies and Stunts

From Some of the Network’s Popular Animated and Live-Action Series

LOS ANGELES — The Hub Network, a destination for kids and their families, once again dominates Halloween with its annual Haunted Hub programming line-up, a month-long celebration of all things spooky, featuring the premieres of two original Hub Network series; the first-ever, star-studded “Halloween Bash” with a 50-state costume contest that anyone can enter and anyone can win; and Halloween-themed movies and stunts the entire family will enjoy. The spook-tacular schedule includes the premiere of the new animated series, “Sabrina Secrets of a Teenage Witch,” starring Ashley Tisdale, on Saturday, October 12, 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT. Also on Saturday, October 12 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT, new episodes ofthe 2013 Daytime Emmy® Award-winning series “R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour: The Series” return. The Haunted Hub celebration also includes the Hub Network’s biggest event ever — the “Hub Network’s First Annual Halloween Bash,” Saturday, October 26, 8–10 p.m. ET/5–7 p.m. PT, featuring the first-ever nationwide Halloween costume competition. That same night, the Hub Network will use this pivotal special to launch its new live-action series, “Spooksville,” at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

 

“Since the Hub Network premiered on 10/10/10, October has been an important month for us,” said Margaret Loesch, President & CEO, the Hub Network. “We have purposely built a reputation for ourselves as being a destination where kids and their families can find spooky and fun programming that they can enjoy together. The four shows we are premiering this October perfectly fit the type of programming our fans love and expect from us. Additionally, the “Hub Network’s First Annual Halloween Bash” is going to be a seminal event for us and that makes it the perfect launch pad for ‘Spooksville.’”

 

Following are series descriptions and broadcast dates and times:

 

Sabrina Secrets of a Teenage Witch” features the iconic teen character re-imagined for a new generation in an all-new animated series starring Ashley Tisdale (“High School Musical”; “Scary Movie 5”). In this half-hour series, Sabrina (Tisdale) is half-witch, half-human, and all super hero as she leads two vastly different lives — one disguised as a normal, klutzy high-school student and the other as the top sorcery student in the magical world. When her two worlds collide, Sabrina is the only one who has the power to battle her foes, while managing to keep her magical identity a secret from humankind. The series is produced by Moonscoop; Archie Comic Publications, Inc.; DSK Group, India; Laughing Lion; and Telegael Teoranta. “Sabrina Secrets of a Teenage Witch” premieres Saturday, October 12, 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT, which is its regularly scheduled time period.

 

“R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour: The Series,” which won the 2013 Daytime Emmy® Award for “Outstanding Children’s Series,” returns with all-new tales of suspense inspired by R.L. Stine, the master of kids’ spooky storytelling. The half-hour anthology series aimed at kids and teens will premiere with two back-to-back episodes. The first is titled, “Séance,” which brings the chills as three young girls set up what they believe is a fake séance but soon realize what was once an old tale is actually real. Following that is “Detention,” during which an unlikely group of high-school students spend the afternoon together in detention, where strange things and people start appearing out of nowhere causing everyone to freak out. “R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour: The Series” is produced by Front Street Pictures in association with The Hatchery, LLC. The series premieres on Saturday, October 12, 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT. New episodes will air weekly on Saturdays at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT starting October 19.

 

“Hub Network’s First Annual Halloween Bash” is an all-new two-hour special celebrating the best of Halloween with a nationwide costume competition judged by a panel of celebrity presenters, including Halloween-expert Martha Stewart. The two-hour extravaganza will feature chart-topping musical performances, celebrity presenters and lots of entertaining tricks and treats for kids and their families. The live-to-tape special will take place at Barker Hanger in Santa Monica, Calif. Bob Bain serves as executive producer and Paul Flattery is producer for Bob Bain Productions. It will be broadcast Saturday, October 26, 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

 

“Spooksville,” featuring up-and-coming teen stars Keean Johnson (“Billy Elliot” – Broadway) Katie Douglas (“Defiance”) and Nick Purcha (“R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour: The Series”), is a new live-action series based on the acclaimed books by author Christopher Pike. “Spooksville” follows Adam (Johnson), the new kid in town who discovers that he holds the key to a battle between good and evil that has been taking place for centuries in a bizarre small town that plays host to a wide array of Supernatural and unexplained occurrences. The series is produced by Springville Productions, Front Street Productions and Jane Startz Productions. “Spooksville” premieres in a special time period, immediately following the “Hub Network’s First Annual Halloween Bash,” on Saturday, October 26 at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. The series will air weekly on Saturdays at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT starting November 2. There will be a special Halloween episode of “Spooksville” on Wednesday, October 30 at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT.

 

During the month of October, the Hub Network will also present a variety of family-favorite, Halloween-themed movies and episodes from popular series, including the following:

 

  • Monday, October 14 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT): Hub Network Family Movie, “The Dog Who Saved Halloween”
  • Sunday, October 20 (1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT): “Tiny Toon Adventures: Night Ghoulery,” a one-hour Halloween special
  • Sunday, October 20 (2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT): Hub Network Family Movie, “The Haunted Pumpkin of Sleepy Hollow
  • Sunday, October 20 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT): Hub Network Family Movie, “The Witches”
  • Saturday, October 26 (10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT): “My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic,” spooky themed episode titled “Luna Eclipsed”
  • Thursday, October 31 (3 p.m. ET/12 noon PT): Two back-to-back episodes of “Goosebumps,” including the classic Halloween episode, “The Haunted Mask,” followed by “The Haunted Mask 2”

 

 

About the Hub Network

The Hub Network is a multi-platform joint venture between Discovery Communications (NASDAQ: DISCA, DISCB, DISCK) and Hasbro, Inc., (NASDAQ: HAS) with a goal of entertaining, enlightening, empowering and educating children and their families. The cable and satellite television network features original programming as well as content from Discovery's library of award-winning children's educational programming; from Hasbro's rich portfolio of entertainment and educational properties built during the past 90 years; and from leading third-party producers worldwide. The Hub Network’s lineup includes animated and live-action series, as well as specials, game shows, and family-favorite movies. The network extends its content through a robust and engaging online presence at www.hubworld.com. The Hub Network rebranded from Discovery Kids on October 10, 2010, and is available in over 73 million U.S. households. The Hub Network logo and name are trademarks of Hub Television Networks, LLC. All rights reserved.

 

To find the channel in your area, please visit http://www.hubworld.com and check the channel locator at the top of the page.

 
© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures