UniMás Reaches 6.7 Million Viewers and Beats Telemundo Among Adults 18-49 and 18-34 With World Cup Qualifier on Friday as Honduras Beats Mexico

Categories: Network TV Press Releases

Written By

September 9th, 2013

hi-res-174123072_crop_exact

via press release:

UNIMÁS REACHES 6.7 MILLION VIEWERS AND BEATS TELEMUNDO AMONG ADULTS 18-49 AND 18-34 WITH WORLD CUP QUALIFIER ON FRIDAY AS HONDURAS BEATS MEXICO

Match is the Third Most-Watched Telecast, Sports or Otherwise, in Network’s History, Averaging 2.5 Million Adults 18-49 and 3.9 Million Persons 2+

World Cup Qualifier on UniMás Ranked as the No. 1 Social TV Show on Broadcast TV on Sept. 6
MIAMI – SEPTEMBER 09, 2013 – Univision Deportes, the sports arm of Univision Communications Inc., the leading media company serving Hispanic America, today announced that its live coverage of the World Cup Qualifying match featuring Honduras over Mexico 2-1 reached 6.7 million viewers who tuned in to watch all or part of the telecast on UniMás. Averaging 3.9 million Persons 2+ and 2.5 million Adults 18-49 from 9:30 p.m. to 11:30 p.m. ET on Friday, September 6, this marked the third most-viewed program in the network’s history among both key demographics.

This marks the latest in a line of highly-rated FIFA World Cup 2014 qualifiers on the UniMás network.  In fact, World Cup qualifying matches featuring the Mexican National Team have drawn strong viewership among Adults 18-49 this year, including 2,818,000 vs. the United States on March 26; 1,779,000 vs. Jamaica on February 6; and 1,729,000 vs. Costa Rica on June 11.

The match also performed well in key local markets around the U.S.2 Regardless of language, UniMás was the highest rated station during the Mexico vs. Honduras World Cup qualifier (9:30 p.m. to 11:30 p.m. ET):

·         Among Persons 2+ in Los Angeles, Houston, Dallas and Phoenix;
·         Among Adults 18-49 Los Angeles, New York, Miami, Houston, Dallas, Chicago, San Francisco, Phoenix and Sacramento; and
·         Among Adults 18-34 in Los Angeles, Miami, Houston, Dallas, Chicago, San Francisco, Phoenix and Sacramento.

As well, from 9:30 p.m. to 11:30 p.m. ET on Friday, UniMás stations had higher viewership that the Telemundo, Azteca, MundoFox and Estrella stations combined:

·         Among Persons 2+ in Los Angeles, Houston, Dallas, Chicago, San Francisco, Phoenix and Sacramento;
·         Among Adults 18-49 in Los Angeles, New York, Miami, Houston, Dallas, Chicago, San Francisco, Phoenix and Sacramento; and
·         Among Adults 18-34 in Los Angeles, Miami, Houston, Dallas, Chicago, San Francisco, Phoenix and Sacramento.

Upcoming matches being televised by Univision Networks during the “Road to the World Cup” this week include:

·         Italy vs. Czech Republic – LIVE on Univision Deportes Network on Tuesday, September 10 at 2:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. CT/11:30 a.m. PT; and
·         U.S.A. vs. Mexico – LIVE on UniMás and Univision Deportes Network on Tuesday, September 10 at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT/5 p.m. PT.

The World Cup Qualifier between Mexico and Honduras on UniMás ranked as the No. 1 broadcast network TV show on Sept. 6  among unique users and in overall activity in social media, regardless of language, beating the U.S. Open on CBS (Source: SocialGuide and Trendrr).

1 Source: The Nielsen Company, NPM, L+SD data.  Nielsen Fast Nationals, reach figures based on Nielsen Fast Cume Report. MNT-Honduras match aired 9/6/13.
2Source: The Nielsen Company, NSI, (9/6/13), 9:30 p.m.-11:30 p.m. ET, live game across time zones.  Live +SD.

 
  • AppleStinx

    Embarrassing defeat for Mexico, and at the Azteca Stadium of all places.

© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures