El Rey Network Acquires 'The X Files', 'Starsky & Hutch' & 'Dark Angel'

Categories: Network TV Press Releases

Written By

January 12th, 2014

 

The X Files 

via press release:

El Rey Network ACQUIRES FAN-FAVORITE Series for action-packed Lineup; 'THE X-Files,' 'starsky & hutch' and 'dark angel' set to premiere

february 14th

 

Network To Launch ‘Grindhouse Fridays’ in Primetime Beginning February 21st; Catalog of Cult Classic Films To Be Selected By And Explored In Depth By Maverick Filmmaker Robert Rodriguez and His Artistic Collective

Additional Programming Includes Broadcast of Professional Mexican Premiere League Soccer with English Commentating Sundays at 1:00pm ET/12:00pm CT

 

Pasadena, CA– January 12, 2014 – El Rey Network, the new 24-hour English-language cable network founded by filmmaker Robert Rodriguez, has licensed the cable rights to three fan-favorite and critically-acclaimed series: “Starsky & Hutch,” “Dark Angel,” and “The X-Files." Under the agreement, El Rey Network will have access to an extensive library of newly-acquired content which will air as part of an expanded 24-hour schedule beginning Friday, February 14th.  These three celebrated series are part of an adrenaline-infused lineup featuring rebellious heroes, iconic car chases, epic fight scenes and more, which all speak to the network's desire to provide viewers a visceral storytelling experience. Terms of the deal were not disclosed.

 

In addition to the acquired programming, the network also unveiled plans to launch “Grindhouse Fridays,” a series of themed primetime movie nights that celebrate cult classic feature films in the grindhouse, action, horror and sci-fi genres. Set to premiere Friday, February 21st at 10PM ET, this weekly event will put a spotlight on selections chosen by Rodriguez and his friends due to the pop culture contribution that each have made to their respective genres. Hosted by a rotating group of talent, including Rodriguez, filmmaker Roberto Orci of K/O Paper Products (Sleepy Hollow, Fringe, Hawaii Five-0, the Star Trek and Transformers franchises, and The Amazing Spider-Man 2) and Harry Knowles (Ain’t It Cool News), each installment will explore why these particular franchises are meaningful both to the industry-at-large and to passionate movie fans.

 

El Rey Network will also ring in the New Year with special coverage of LIGA MX’s Pumas (UNAM) home games, airing on various Sundays. Based in Mexico City, PUMAS is one of Mexico's most popular clubs, and El Rey will put their unique stamp on this international sensation with vibrant and colorful English-language play-by-play and analysis provided by broadcasters Ramses Sandoval and Tony Quevedo.

 

Highlights of El Rey Network’s programming schedule as well as detailed information on the network’s acquired series, can be found below:

 

LICENSED SERIES:

 

§  Starsky & Hutch (Airs Monday – Friday from 2PM – 4PM ET/1PM – 3PM CT)

Starsky & Hutch is one of the most popular and iconic series of the '70s. Starring Paul Michael Glaser (Dave Starsky) and David Soul (Ken "Hutch' Hutchinson) as undercover COPS and best friends, the series redefined the genre with full-throttle car chases (in the Infamous Gran Torino), offbeat and self-deprecating humor and colorful characters.

 

§  Dark Angel (Airs Mondays and Thursdays from 4PM – 8PM ET/3PM – 7PM CT)

Dark Angel, created by James Cameron and starring Jessica Alba, was an award-winning science fiction drama series that chronicled the life of Max Guevara (played by Alba), a genetically-enhanced super-soldier who escapes from a covert government biotech/military facility as a child.

 

§  The X-Files (Airs Tuesday, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 4PM ET – 8PM ET/3PM – 7PM CT; Sundays from 3PM – 7PM ET/2PM – 6PM CT)

A widely-lauded, award-winning sci-fi series, The X-Files recounts the exploits of FBI Special Agents Fox Mulder (David Duchovny) and Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson) who investigate X-Files: marginalized, unsolved cases involving paranormal phenomena.

 

 

FEBRUARY 2014 – MOVIE PROGRAMMING:

 

§  Theme: “Rip Your Heart Out” Valentine’s Day

Film/Airdate: Bram Stoker’s Dracula (Airing Friday, February 14 at 8:30PM ET/7:30PM CT)

The 1992 horror film directed by Francis Ford Coppola and starring Gary Oldman, Winona Ryder, Anthony Hopkins and Keanu Reeves.

 

Film/Airdate: Fright Night (Airing Friday, February 14 at 11:00PM ET/10:00PM CT)

The 1985 classic vampire film written and directed by Tom Holland.

 

§  Theme: “The 36th Chamber of Shaolin Trilogy”

The legendary kung-fu trilogy featuring The 36th Chamber Of Shaolin, Return To The 36th Chamber, and Disciples Of The 36th Chamber (Airing Saturday, February 15 and running back-to-back all day starting at 12:30PM ET/11:30 AM CT)

 

§  Theme: “Grindhouse Friday” Hosted by Robert Rodriguez and others

Film/Airdate: Switchblade Sisters (Airing Friday, February 21 at 10PM ET/9PM CT)

The 1975 action film detailing the lives of high school-aged female gang members.

 

 

Film/Airdate:  Rolling Thunder (Airing Friday, February 28 at 10PM ET/9PM CT)

The violent 1977 thriller starring William Devane and Tommy Lee Jones about returning Vietnam vets finding a new war at home.

 

PUMAS (UNAM) GAME SCHEDULE:

 

§  Sunday, January 19th: UNAM vs Toluca at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

§  Sunday, February 2nd: UNAM vs Tijuana at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

§  Sunday, February 16th: UNAM vs Atlas at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

§  Sunday, March 2nd: UNAM vs Pachuca at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

§  Sunday, March 16th: UNAM vs Atlante at 2:00PM ET/1:00pm CT

§  Sunday, March 23rd: UNAM vs Monterrey at 2:00PM ET/1:00pm CT

§  Sunday, April 6th: UNAM vs Chiapas at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

§  Sunday, April 20th: UNAM vs Guadalajara at 1:00PM ET/12:00pm CT

 

In addition to the licensed series and movies, El Rey Network’s first original scripted project, From Dusk Till Dawn: The Series, is currently in production in Austin, Texas.  The 10-episode Supernatural crime saga, created, directed and executive produced by Rodriguez (Sin City, Machete, Desperado) and based on the 1996 cult classic he created with Quentin Tarantino, will premiere March 11, 2014.

 

For more information and the latest updates, please visit the network’s website at: http://www.elreynetwork.com, “Like” El Rey on Facebook at www.facebook.com

 
  • Connman

    Now we know what DirectTV is planning to do with the space The Weather Channel is soon to leave… ;-)

  • CSI Fan

    I miss Dark Angel so much.. :’(

  • Brad

    88 isn’t always required, but it helps. Shows can, have and will be syndicated with less.

    Having more episodes means more money and likely more chance to be syndicated.

    Why do you think Dark Angel is going to be on a channel 12 people will watch?

  • feinn

    @Brad the channel is founded by R Rodriguez, he is the only person that hires Jessica Alba

  • Buddy Glenn

    88 episodes in the current norm for regular strip syndication (Monday thru Friday). But nowadays, especially certain cable networks, it doesn’t matter as much. It’s programming with a cult following. With that said, it does sound weird to run “Dark Angel” as strip, when it doesn’t have that many episodes. You would think weekly or mini-marathon per week. Off hand, Sci-Fi-themed shows usually have a better chance for an afterlife, i.e. “Firefly” on Science Channel.

  • pete5125

    Dark Angle has a cult following and probably was thrown in with The X-Files since both are produced by Fox, if not they got it on the cheap.

    88 episodes is what is typically desired for a money making successful syndication package, but several shows have broken that rule, Ned and Stacey had a 2 year run as has been syndicated several times over the last 15 years or so, airing on TVGuide Net most recently.

    It’s a new network and Dark Angle was a well made slick show produced by James Cameron, the finale 1hour and 1/2 episode was even directed by him…Also Jessica Alba is still a big name, win/win for a show airing in early fringe.

    I would expect Terminator or even Dollhouse getting a run as well

  • Fakeem

    my bad…I see that links aren’t allowed… just go to the luchaworld dot com site for the Mark Burnett story.

© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures