Deportes Telemundo Presents an English Soccer Classic: Manchester United vs Liverpool

Categories: Network TV Press Releases

Written By

March 14th, 2014

0311_man_u_nike_970-630x420

via press release:

DEPORTES TELEMUNDO PRESENTS AN ENGLISH SOCCER CLASSIC:

MANCHESTER UNITED VS. LIVERPOOL

THIS SUNDAY, MARCH 16 AT 9:25AM EST/8:25 CST/6:25 PST ON TELEMUNDO

Miami –March 14, 2014- Barclays Premier League comes to Telemundo Sunday, March 16 (9:25AM EST/8:25AM CST/6:25AM PST) with one of the year’s most eagerly awaited matches between historic rivals Manchester United and Liverpool. Andrés Cantor will narrate the clash between English soccer titans, with commentary by Sammy Sadovnik.

Uruguay’s Luis Suarez, one of the world’s top strikers and the current Barclays Premier League champion with 24 goals scored, will be critical to Liverpool’s chances for continuing its nine-game winning streak.  For Manchester United coach David Moyes, the match is a chance to earn the respect of fans nostalgic for his predecessor, Sir Alex Ferguson, who led the Red Devils to 38 championships.

With 59 points scored in 28 games, Liverpool is in second place in The League standings, just 7 goals behind Chelsea. Manchester is in 6th place with 48 points, putting European competitions out of its reach.

Manchester United has won the most trophies of any team in English soccer history and is The League’s reigning champion.  Liverpool is second on the list, with 59 championships (18 of them league) to its credit. The rivalry between the two teams dates back to the nineteenth century, when Manchester and Liverpool vied for economic prominence, Manchester as a symbol of the industrial revolution and the port of Liverpool as an international trading hub.

 
© 2014 Tribune Digital Ventures