via press release:



Masters® Is Longest-Running Sporting Event Broadcast on One Network

The Masters®, the most renowned tournament in golf, will be broadcast on CBS for the 56th consecutive year from the majestic setting of Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Ga. This year marks the 75th Masters Tournament, one of the most highly-anticipated sporting events of the year. Last year, Phil Mickelson won his third Green Jacket with a three-shot victory over Lee Westwood, becoming only the eighth player to win three Masters titles.

CBS Sports will bring viewers all the color, artistry and drama inherent to the world’s most prestigious golf tournament and first major of the year with live third-round coverage of the Masters on Saturday, April 9 (3:30-7:00 PM, ET). Final-round 18-hole coverage is scheduled for Sunday, April 10 (2:00-7:00 PM, ET). Highlights of early-round play will be presented by CBS Sports on Thursday, April 7 and Friday, April 8 (11:35-11:50 PM, ET; both nights).

For the 26th consecutive year Jim Nantz will cover the Masters for CBS (his 24th year as host). He also handles coverage of the Highlight Shows, originating from Butler Cabin on the grounds of Augusta National. Three-time Masters champion Sir Nick Faldo joins Nantz in the 18th hole tower as lead analyst. Peter Oosterhuis will describe the action at the 17th hole; Verne Lundquist, the 16th hole; David Feherty, the 15th hole and Highlight Shows; Bill Macatee, the 14th hole; Peter Kostis, the 13th hole; and Ian Baker-Finch will tell the story at the 11th and 12th holes. Ian Eagle and Matt Gogel return to call the live streaming video action for Amen Corner , along with Jerry Foltz and Billy Ray Brown for 15 & 16 and Andrew Catalon and Billy Kratzert for Featured Group.

Augusta National, home of the Masters since its inception in 1934, is the unrivaled host to the world’s greatest players and the most memorable moments in golf. Mickelson returns to Augusta to lead the tournament field of invitees, which is considered America’s most prestigious gathering of professional and amateur golfers. The 2011 tournament field of invitees expected to compete includes past Masters champions: Angel Cabrera, Tiger Woods, Vijay Singh, Mike Weir, Jose Maria Olazabal, Mark O’Meara, Trevor Immelman, Larry Mize, Ben Crenshaw, Fred Couples, Craig Stadler, Tom Watson, Zach Johnson, Ian Woosnam and Sandy Lyle; other U.S. players: Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson, Anthony Kim, Jim Furyk, Steve Stricker, Jeff Overton, Stewart Cink, Jhonattan Vegas, Sean O’Hair, Nick Watney, Hunter Mahan and Matt Kuchar. Other international stars include Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter, Paul Casey, Ryo Ishikawa, Camilo Villegas, Louis Oosthuizen, Rory McIlroy, Padraig Harrington, Ernie Els, Martin Laird, Justin Rose, Sergio Garcia, Luke Donald, Geoff Ogilvy, Francesco Molinari, Edoardo Molinari, Adam Scott, Tim Clark, Martin Kaymer, Miguel Angel Jimenez and Robert Allenby. (*For the complete 2011 Masters Tournament invitees log onto

CBS Sports’ coverage of the Masters will be produced by Lance Barrow, coordinating producer of CBS golf, along with David Winner, and directed by Steve Milton and Bob Matina. Jim Rikhoff will serve as replay producer. Bob Mansbach will produce the late night highlight shows and Chris Svendsen will direct. Harold Bryant is Vice President, Production, CBS Sports.

Sean McManus is Chairman, CBS Sports.

Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus