via press release:






“Papa Writes to Johnny” and “The Morning of the Rain” Are Now Available

On iTunes and ABC Music Lounge!


ABC Music Lounge’s “Nashville”-inspired docu-web series, “On the Record,” is live at with the new original song, “Wrong Song,” written by songwriters Sonya Isaacs, Jimmy Yeary and Marv Green and performed by Connie Britton (Rayna Jaymes) and Hayden Panettiere (Juliette Barnes).


With interviews from Isaacs, Yeary, Green and Britton, as well as Callie Khouri (creator/executive producer), Dawn Soler (SVP of Music, ABC Studios) and Frankie Pine (music supervisor), “On the Record” explores the many meanings behind “Wrong Song” and its importance to Rayna and Juliette’s relationship. In the show, the song is the first written and performed by the women. It’s performed at the historic Ryman Auditorium.


“We kind of wanted to set up these ladies. There’s a little battle going on,” says Soler.


“They’re going to keep telling each other that the song that the other one wants to do is the wrong song,” adds Khouri.

“Nashville’s” new original songs being released this week include “Papa Writes to Johnny,” written by Gillian Welch and performed by Charles Esten as Deacon Claybourne, and “The Morning of the Rain,” written by Jonathan Jackson and performed by Jonathan Jackson as Avery Barkley. Both are currently available on iTunes and


T Bone Burnett serves as executive music producer for the series. All original music is released by ABC Studios, Lionsgate and ABC Music Lounge in association with Big Machine Records.


“Nashville” airs WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 28 (10:00-11:00 p.m., ET) with a new episode and new music.


Sponsored by Samsung, “On the Record” is a documentary web series that follows the life of original songs performed on “Nashville” written by singer/songwriters in the music scene, from the songs’ inception to on-air premiere. The series offers an intimate look into the songwriting process, from guitar demo to music video and all the steps in between.


“Nashville” stars Connie Britton as Rayna Jaymes, Hayden Panettiere as Juliette Barnes, Clare Bowen as Scarlett O’Connor, Eric Close as Teddy Conrad, Charles Esten as Deacon Claybourne, Jonathan Jackson as Avery Barkley, Sam Palladio as Gunnar Scott, Robert Ray Wisdom as Coleman Carlisle and Powers Boothe as Lamar Wyatt.


“Nashville” is executive produced by Dee Johnson, R.J. Cutler, Callie Khouri who is also creator and Steve Buchanan. The series is produced by Lionsgate, ABC Studios and Gaylord Entertainment.


ABC Music Lounge, which launched in May 2009 on, provides users with an interactive online music experience that is uniquely ABC. Reflective of the network’s commitment to using digital platforms to deepen its relationship with viewers, the ABC Music Lounge showcases everything about the music and artists featured on ABC’s popular primetime schedule, offering a deep catalog of music-related content. The site features a 24-hour streaming radio station programmed with music featured on such ABC series as “Body of Proof,” “Castle,” “Dancing with the Stars,” “Grey’s Anatomy,” “Private Practice,” “Revenge” and “Once Upon a Time,” among others. Visitors to the site can get access to exclusive weekly free downloads and get a glimpse of ABC’s music future, as the radio station also showcases new music picked by series producers, music supervisors and others involved in the music selection process for shows that have previously seen great success. In addition to a streaming radio station, ABC Music Lounge is home to music videos, exclusive performance footage, photos and behind-the-scenes interviews with artists, series producers and music supervisors.


Big Machine Records is the leading independent Nashville-based record label home to superstars such as Taylor Swift, Tim McGraw and Rascal Flatts.


          ABC Music Lounge:

Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus