via press release:

NEW YORK – April 6, 2011 – In a game that may have significant playoff implications for both teams, the defending Stanley Cup champion Chicago Blackhawks host the Detroit Red Wings at United Center this Sunday at 12:30 p.m. ET in the final regular-season installment of NBC Sports’ “NHL Game of the Week.”

The Blackhawks are fighting for their playoff lives, currently tied for seventh in the Western Conference with Anaheim with 93 points. Calgary and Dallas, however, are right behind with 91 points. As of today, the Blackhawks can finish anywhere from fourth to tenth in the conference. The Red Wings are still vying for playoff positioning, ranking third in the West with 102 points, just one point behind current second-seed San Jose (103). The contest is the final regular-season game for both teams.

Mike “Doc” Emrick (play-by-play), Eddie Olczyk (analyst) and Pierre McGuire (inside-the-glass analyst) call the action on NBC. McGuire will pull double duty, hosting NBC Sports’ studio show with analyst Mike Milbury on site at United Center.

NBCSPORTS.COM: will stream live all “NHL Game of the Week” broadcasts this season, including Red Wings-Blackhawks. It will again offer “Star-cam,” which follows a marquee player in the game. Following the game, will present bonus material, including “Star-cam” and “Net-cam” and bonus analysis from NBC Sports commentators. The NHL on NBC also has its own Facebook page. For NHL news and behind-the-scenes videos and photos, click here

SAVE THE DATE: A Stanley Cup Playoffs conference call featuring commentators from all of the NHL’s television partners will take place Monday at 1 p.m. ET. The NHL will operate the call and will provide further details tomorrow.


The top 40 bull riders in the world compete this Sunday at 3 p.m. ET on NBC in Tampa, Fla., in the Built Ford Tough Invitational Powered by F-150 EcoBoost, the next installment of the elite Professional Bull Rider’s 2011 Built Ford Tough Series.

Craig Hummer, Ty Murray and Leah Garcia will call the action.

Expected to compete are current world leader Valdiron de Oliveira (Brazil), 2010 reserve champion Austin Meier (OK), 2010 Rookie of the Year Silvano Alves (Brazil), and former World Champions Chris Shivers (LA) and Guilherme Marchi (Brazil). Shivers looks for his fourth win in Tampa, having won in 2000, 2003 and 2005.

Riders are competing every week for the coveted 2011 PRB World Championship title and the $1 million Built Ford Tough bonus. The taped broadcast of the Built Ford Tough Invitational at the St. Pete Times Forum marks the 14th stop on the BFTS, which will make 28 stops in 23 states.

–NBC Sports Group–

Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus