getTV_logo_new (small) (1)

via press release:

getTV HONORS BELOVED FILMMAKER FRANK CAPRA EVERY THURSDAY NIGHT IN MAY, INCLUDING A NINE-FILM MARATHON ON WHAT WOULD HAVE BEEN HIS 117th BIRTHDAY, SUNDAY, MAY 18

  

 Other Highlights for the Month of May Include Stunts Featuring John Wayne, James Stewart, Katharine Hepburn, Vincent Price, Fred Astaire, Stanley Kubrick, and Many More

  

CULVER CITY, CA – Thursday, April 24, 2014 – getTV pays tribute to the legendary filmmaker Frank Capra, highlighting 12 of the three-time Oscar® winner’s most influential films in the month of May. Thursdays in May, at 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT, tune in for themed lineups starting on May 1 with “Capra’s Leading Ladies,” starring Jean Harlow in PLATINUM BLONDE; and Barbara Stanwyck in LADIES OF LEISURE. On May 8, spend an evening with “Capra and Gary Cooper,” in the Oscar-winning MR. DEEDS GOES TO TOWN, followed by MEET JOHN DOE. “Capra and James Stewart” are the focal point on May 15, in YOU CAN’T TAKE IT WITH YOU, which earned Capra his third Oscar for Best Director; alongside MR. SMITH GOES TO WASHINGTON.

 

Then, explore “Capra’s America” with RAIN OR SHINE, THE MIRACLE WOMAN and AMERICAN MADNESS on May 22. “Capra Goes Global” closes the month on May 29, with Ronald Colman in LOST HORIZON; Barbara Stanwyck in THE BITTER TEA OF GENERAL YEN; and DIRIGIBLE, starring Fay Wray. In conjunction with the month of Capra, getTV presents a special all-day marathon on Sunday, May 18—which would have been Capra’s 117th birthday—at 6:45 a.m. ET/3:45 a.m. PT, featuring nine of his classic films.

 

Fridays in May are devoted to larger-than-life cinematic icons, with a lineup featuring acclaimed thespian James Mason in LORD JIM (with Peter O’Toole), and THE DEADLY AFFAIR on May 2; famed song-and-dance man Fred Astaire stars with Rita Hayworth in YOU’LL NEVER GET RICH; and Paulette Goddard in YOU WERE NEVER LOVELIER, and SECOND CHORUS on May 9; Hollywood patriarch Henry Fonda in LET US LIVE, YOU BELONG TO ME, and the war-thriller FAIL SAFE (with Walter Matthau) on May 16; a comedy four-pack starring Irene Dunne in THEODORA GOES WILD, THE AWFUL TRUTH (with Cary Grant), TOGETHER AGAIN, and OVER 21; and Glenn Ford in MEN WITHOUT SOULS, FRAMED, and CONVICTED on May 30.

 

Also this month, saddle up for four of John Wayne’s earliest films, as getTV honors the Western hero on Monday, May 26, at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT. The day begins with Wayne as a West Point cadet in the 1931 drama ARIZONA, followed by RANGE FEUD; the Old West mystery TEXAS CYCLONE; and TWO FISTED LAW. The complete marathon can be seen again that same day, starting at 6:35 p.m. ET/3:35 p.m. PT.

 

And getTV’s “Silver Screen Favorites” Sunday block puts the spotlight on the Stanley Kubrick’s military satire DR. STRANGELOVE, on May 4, at 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT. George C. Scott leads an all-star cast boasting James Earl Jones, Slim Pickens, and comedic mastermind Peter Sellers in DR. STRANGELOVE.

Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus