via press release:

NBA TV and to Present Exclusive Live Coverage of
2011 Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremonies

 Coverage to Include Red Carpet Show and Special Video Tribute Before Each Induction
Teresa Edwards, Artis Gilmore, Chris Mullin and Dennis Rodman Headline Class of 2011   

NBA TV and will present exclusive live coverage of the 2011 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Enshrinement ceremonies on Friday, August 12, 2011 in Springfield, Mass. with Teresa Edwards, Artis Gilmore, Chris Mullin and Dennis Rodman headlining this year’s class of inductees.

NBA TV’s live coverage begins with the Hall of Fame Red Carpet Show at 6 p.m. (ET) hosted by Matt Winer, along with Rick Kamla and David Aldridge interviewing the basketball stars and dignitaries on hand for the celebration. Ahmad Rashad will handle emcee duties during the evening’s festivities.

The Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. (ET) and will feature the Class of 2011 led by Edwards, Gilmore, Herb McGee, Mullin, Rodman, Arvydas Sabonis, Tom Sanders, Reece “Goose” Tatum, Tara VanDerveer and Tex Winter. NBA TV will spotlight each enshrinee with a career highlight video prior to being called to the podium.

NBA TV’s Hall of Fame week of programming (Aug. 9-12) will include a 2011 Hall of Fame Special on Tuesday, August 9 at 6 p.m. (ET) with discussions and features on the entire Hall of Fame Class of 2011. NBA TV also will air Hardwood Classics during the week. Games featuring some members of the 2011 Hall of Fame Class will highlight the days’ programming schedule that includes:

• Dennis Rodman’s career-high, 34-rebound night in 1992 as a member of the Detroit Pistons
• Game 2 of the 1996 Finals when Rodman scored 10 points and grabbed 20 rebounds en route to a NBA title with the Chicago Bulls
• Chris Mullin’s 41-point performance in the 1991 Western Conference Semifinals when the Golden State Warriors took on the Los Angeles Lakers
• Arvydas Sabonis’ 27-point, 12-rebound night in Game 3 of the Western Conference first round with the Utah Jazz and Portland Trail Blazers. also is planning a special tribute page ( dedicated to the Hall of Fame enshrinees. Each member of this year’s Hall of Fame class will be profiled with an in-depth look at their career highlights along with video bios. The site also will have live streaming coverage of some of the festivities including the Hall of Fame press conference and media dinner.

2011 Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame Class:
• Teresa Edwards: Edwards won four gold medals as a five-time Olympian. She enjoyed a successful professional career playing in Italy, Japan, Spain, France and Russia and ended her career with the WNBA’s Minnesota Lynx. In 2004, Edwards received the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award.
• Artis Gilmore: Gilmore played 12 years in the NBA and five years in the ABA. He won the 1975 ABA title with the Kentucky Colonels. Gilmore also was the 1972 ABA MVP, a five-time ABA All-Star and a six-time NBA All-Star.
• Herb McGee: McGee won more than 900 games and a national title as the head coach of Division II Philadelphia University (formerly Philadelphia Textile).
• Chris Mullin: A member of the original “Dream Team,” Mullin was the consummate team player as a five-time NBA All-Star for the Golden State Warriors. The two-time Olympic gold medalist was a legendary college basketball player at St. John’s University where he was the recipient of the 1985 John R. Wooden Award and became the only three-time Big East Player-of-the-Year.
• Dennis Rodman: A five-time NBA champion, Rodman was named NBA Defensive Player-of-the-Year twice and led the league in rebounds seven consecutive seasons.
• Arvydas Sabonis: A native of Lithuania, Sabonis was an eight-time European Player-of-the-Year and a 1988 Olympic gold medalist for the Soviet Union. A member of the FIBA Hall of Fame, he played six seasons for the Portland Trail Blazers.
• Tom “Satch” Sanders: An eight-time NBA champion in 13 years with the Boston Celtics, Sanders went onto a successful career off the court for the NBA, helping to create the league’s Rookie Transition Program.
• Reece “Goose” Tatum: A legendary Harlem Globetrotter, Tatum electrified fans with his antics and basketball skills.
• Tara VanDerveer: VanDerveer, the women’s head coach at Stanford, has won more than 800 games, leading her teams to eight Final Four appearances, as well as the U.S. to the gold medal at the 1996 Olympic Summer Games in Atlanta.
• Tex Winter: Known in NBA circles as “Phil Jackson’s assistant,” Winter helped create the “Triangle Offense” and was a part of 10 NBA championship teams. Before that, he was a successful college basketball coach at Kansas and took the school to the Final Four twice.

Visit Turner Sports online pressroom at Follow Turner Sports on Twitter @TurnerSportsPR
– 30-

Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus