via press release:




Entire Season of STARZ Original Filmmaking Experiment “The Chair” To Be

Available for Purchase on iTunes, Amazon Instant Video, Google Play,

and Other Digital Platforms on November 10, Two Days After Finale


Feature Films “Not Cool” and “Hollidaysburg” Documented on the Series

Available Now to Rent and Purchase on Digital Platforms


Beverly Hills, Calif. –November 6, 2014 – Starz Digital Media, the global digital and on-demand licensing and content syndication arm of Starz, announced an early digital purchase opportunity for the STARZ Original Filmmaking Experiment “The Chair.” Beginning November 10, digital electronic sell-through (EST) purchases of the entire 10-episode season will be available through digital purchase partners iTunes, Amazon Instant Video, Google Play, and other digital platforms.

This marks the earliest a Starz series has been made available to purchase and view following its original network airing. The critically-acclaimed season of the series – currently boasting a 100 percent rating on the website “Rotten Tomatoes” with 14 critics reviews – will air its season finale and announce the winner on Saturday, November 8 at 10 p.m. ET/PT on STARZ.


“’The Chair’ is a one-of-a-kind series that required us to think a bit differently,” said Mara Winokur, SVP, Starz Digital Media. “Seeing how the series was embraced by critics and fans only reinforced our desire to bring ‘The Chair’ to a digital audience as quickly as possible.”


“I have had a blast working with the Starz Digital Media team on the releases of ‘Not Cool’ and ‘Hollidaysburg’,” said Chris Moore, creator and executive producer of “The Chair.”  “I am excited to keep the party going and work to build bridges between the movies and the series.”


The feature films documented on “The Chair” – Hollidaysburg, directed by Anna Martemucci, and Not Cool, directed by Shane Dawson – are available now for rental and download on digital platforms. Not Cool reached No. 5 on the iTunes Movies charts the week it was released.


About “The Chair”
Created by Chris Moore, Executive Producer of Emmy®-nominated “Project Greenlight” and Co-Producer of Oscar®-winning Good Will Hunting, the 10-part documentary follows two first-time directors – who are given the same original screenplay – through the process of bringing their debut feature films to the big screen.


Directors Shane Dawson and Anna Martemucci were provided with an identical screenplay and challenged to craft their own film. The series documents the creation, marketing and theatrical release of both adaptations. Both directors were given the same budget and the productions used locations in the same city – Pittsburgh, Penn. Through multiplatform voting, viewers will ultimately determine which director will be awarded $250,000.


Actor Zachary Quinto (Star Trek, “American Horror Story,” “Heroes”) and his producing partners Corey Moosa and Neal Dodson will be featured in “The Chair” as they join Chris Moore and the script’s original producer, Josh Shader, to serve as mentors to Dawson and Martemucci in their quest to develop the winning adaptation.



The first episode of the10-part documentary “The Chair” premiered on STARZ on September 6, 2014.

Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus