via press release:







LOS ANGELES, July 16, 2015 —The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences announced today that WGN America’s critically acclaimed drama “Manhattan,” created by Sam Shaw and directed by Emmy Award-winning director Thomas Schlamme, has been honored with a 67th Primetime Emmy Award nomination for Outstanding Main Title Design.  This marks the first Emmy nomination ever received for original programming on WGN America, since the new cable network transformed to become a home for high-quality original programming last year.  The main title, produced by Imaginary Forces’ Dan Gregoras, Jeremy Cox, Jon Hassell and Griffin Frazen, recently won the 2015 SXSW Jury Award for Excellent in Main Title Design.


“Tommy and I are so thrilled that the Academy has recognized our friends at Imaginary Forces for their brilliant work on ‘Manhattan’s’ main title,” said Shaw.  “Dan Gregoras, Jeremy Cox, Jon Hassell and their team somehow managed to pack all the fear, hope and strangeness of the atomic age into 30 seconds.  The design captures the scope and spirit of our show beautifully.”


“Everyone at WGN America thanks the Academy for this recognition, in this our first year in the scripted arena, and we extend our sincere congratulations to Imaginary Forces and our brilliant creative team in Sam Shaw and Tommy Schlamme on this Emmy nomination,” said Matt Cherniss, President and General Manager, WGN America and Tribune Studios.


Produced by Lionsgate Television, Skydance Television and Tribune Studios, “Manhattan,” hailed as “immediately impressive” by the Wall Street Journal and “absolutely stellar” by Entertainment Weekly, follows the tangled lives of the residents of Los Alamos, New Mexico as they race to detonate the world’s first nuclear bomb. “Manhattan” returns for its second season on Tuesday, October 13 at 9:00 p.m. ET / 8:00 p.m. CT, exclusively on WGN America. 


Filmed on location in Santa Fe, NM, “Manhattan” stars Emmy®-nominated actor John Benjamin Hickey (“The Big C,” “The Good Wife”) as Frank Winter; Olivia Williams (“Rushmore,” “The Ghost Writer”) as Liza Winter; Ashley Zukerman (“Rush”) as Charlie Isaacs; Rachel Brosnahan (“House of Cards”) as Abby Isaacs; Katja Herbers (“De Storm”) as Helen Prins; Christopher Denham (“Argo,” “Shutter Island”) as Jim Meeks; Harry Lloyd (“Game of Thrones”) as Paul Crosley; and Michael Chernus (“The Big C,” “Orange Is The New Black”) as Louis “Fritz” Fedowitz.   Joining the series in season two are William Petersen as Col. Emmett Darrow (“CSI: Crime Scene Investigation”); Mamie Gummer (“The Good Wife”) as Nora; and  Emmy and Golden Globe-nominated actor/director/producer Griffin Dunne (“Dallas Buyers Club,” “After Hours”) as Woodrow Lorentzen. 



“Manhattan” is executive produced by Sam Shaw, Thomas Schlamme, Dustin Thomason, David Ellison, Dana Goldberg and Marcy Ross.

Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus