NFL Network Logo New

via press release:



Fourth Annual ‘Bracketology’ Begins Monday, March 16


32 Games Divided Into Four Brackets


Fans Can Access All 32 Games Featured on NFL Now


What is the greatest NFL game of all time?’s fourth annual edition of Bracketology seeks to answer the long-standing debate. Starting Monday, March 16, fans will decide the greatest game of all time by voting at


The field of 32 games was decided by a panel of NFL Media analysts and is divided into four brackets.’s Bracketology will have five rounds of voting in a typical bracket style format, with the game with the most votes within its matchup at the end of each round advancing to the next round.


Provided below is this year’s Bracketology schedule:


Launch – Monday, March 16

– Round of 16 – Friday, March 20

– Quarterfinals – Tuesday, March 24

– Semifinals – Friday, March 27

– Finals – Wednesday, April 1

– Winner Unveiled – Sunday, April 5


Starting TODAY at 1:00 PM ET, and airing weekdays through Tuesday, March 31, NFL Network will air 90-miniute NFL’s Greatest Games editions of select games from the bracket. On Thursday, April 2 and Friday, April 3 at 1:00 PM ET, NFL Network will air the full game broadcasts of the two games featured in the Finals, with the winning game revealed Sunday, April 5. The full game broadcast of the game determined by fans to be the greatest NFL game of all time will air Sunday, April 5 at 8:00 PM ET.


Fans will also be able to access all 32 games featured on the original list on NFL Now, and every game will be available in full on


Last year,’s Bracketology voted on the greatest quarterback of all time (Johnny Unitas). In 2013, fans voted to determine the greatest team of all time (1976 Oakland Raiders) and in 2012 voted on the greatest play of all time (DeSean Jackson’s walk-off punt return for a touchdown against the New York Giants in 2010).


Provided below are the matchups in the four brackets that fans will vote on:


Dynasty Makers


1. 1981 NFC Championship Game – Dallas Cowboys vs. San Francisco 49ers

8. 1983 NFC Championship Game – San Francisco 49ers vs. Washington Redskins


2. 1967 NFL Championship (The Ice Bowl) – Dallas Cowboys vs. Green Bay Packers

7. 1971 AFC Divisional Round Game – Miami Dolphins vs. Kansas City Chiefs


3. Super Bowl XIII – Pittsburgh Steelers vs. Dallas Cowboys

6. 1992 AFC Wild Card Game – Houston Oilers vs. Buffalo Bills


4. Super Bowl XXXVI – St. Louis Rams vs. New England Patriots

5. 1992 NFC Championship Game – Dallas Cowboys vs. San Francisco 49ers


Individual Heroics


1. 1981 AFC Divisional Round Game – San Diego Chargers vs. Miami Dolphins

8. 2010 NFC Wild Card Game – New Orleans Saints vs. Seattle Seahawks


2. 1986 AFC Championship Game (The Drive) – Denver Broncos vs. Cleveland Browns

7. 2009 NFC Wild Card Game – Green Bay Packers vs. Arizona Cardinals


3. Super Bowl XLII – New York Giants vs. New England Patriots

6. 1975 NFC Divisional Round Game – Dallas Cowboys vs. Minnesota Vikings


4. Super Bowl XLIII – Pittsburgh Steelers vs. Arizona Cardinals

5. Super Bowl III – New York Jets vs. Indianapolis Colts


Crazy Endings


1. Super Bowl XXV – New York Giants vs. Buffalo Bills

8. Week 15, 2010 (Miracle at the New Meadowlands) – Philadelphia Eagles vs. New York Giants


2. 1987 AFC Championship Game (The Fumble) – Cleveland Browns vs. Denver Broncos

7. 1972 AFC Divisional Round Game – Oakland Raiders vs. Pittsburgh Steelers


3. Super Bowl XLIX – Seattle Seahawks vs. New England Patriots

6. Week 8, 2000 Monday Night Football – Miami Dolphins vs. New York Jets


4. 2001 AFC Divisional Round Game (The Tuck Rule) – Oakland Raiders vs. New England Patriots

5. 1998 NFC Wild Card Game – Green Bay Packers vs. San Francisco 49ers


Great from the Get-Go


1. 1958 NFL Championship – Baltimore Colts vs. New York Giants

8. 2006 AFC Championship Game – New England Patriots vs. Indianapolis Colts


2. 1966 NFL Championship – Green Bay Packers vs. Dallas Cowboys

7. 1986 AFC Divisional Round Game – New York Jets at Cleveland Browns 


3. 1977 AFC Divisional Round Game (Ghost to the Post) – Oakland Raiders vs. Baltimore Colts

6. 2011 NFC Divisional Round Game – New Orleans Saints at San Francisco 49ers


4. 1980 NFC Divisional Round Game – Dallas Cowboys at Atlanta Falcons

5. 1990 NFC Championship Game – New York Giants at San Francisco 49ers





Seven days a week, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, fans turn to NFL Network to receive information and insight straight from the field, team headquarters, league offices and everywhere the NFL is making news. Launched in 2003, NFL Network gives fans unprecedented year-round inside access to all NFL events, including the Super Bowl, Playoffs, regular season, preseason, Pro Bowl, Pro Football Hall of Fame induction weekend, NFL Draft, NFL Scouting Combine, Senior Bowl, league meetings, minicamps and training camps.


Currently in more than 72 million homes, NFL Network has carriage agreements with each of the country’s largest television providers including Comcast, DirecTV, DISH Network, Cablevision, Cox, Charter, Time Warner Cable, Verizon FiOS and AT&T U-Verse.



For fans on the go, all NFL Network programming can also be streamed live on the NFL Mobile from Verizon app (, the NFL app delivered on XBOX from Microsoft, and through Watch NFL Network (, with participating cable and satellite providers. For more information, log on to is the exclusive internet home of NFL Network.   

Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus