via press release:




CHICAGO (June 13, 2013) – The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced today the 2013 national TV schedule with FOX Sports Media Group to offer exclusive live coverage of nine matches, featuring six regular-season matches and all three playoff matches, which include the two semifinal games on August 24 and the championship game on August 31.


FOX Soccer is set to televise one game per week over the final six weeks of the season with each club appearing at least once on national television, leading up to the NWSL Playoffs.


Beginning on July 14 at 8:30 PM ET, FOX Soccer launches its national coverage with an East vs. West matchup between the Seattle Reign FC and Washington Spirit. Megan Rapinoe and Hope Solo look to propel the Reign up the standings as they take on Canadian international Diana Matheson and fellow U.S. teammates Lori Lindsey, Ali Krieger and Ashlyn Harris at Starfire Stadium. The two teams square-off again in a rematch on August 10 at the Maryland SoccerPlex, also live on FOX Soccer at 7:00 PM ET.


Star forwards Alex Morgan and Christine Sinclair have combined forces to give the Portland Thorns one of the most potent attacks in the league. The Chicago Red Stars, led by Canadian goalkeeper Erin McLeod and U.S. midfielder Shannon Boxx, have their work cut out for them at JELD-WEN Field, airing live on July 28 at 7:00 PM ET.


Portland, backed by one of the most passionate women’s soccer fan bases in the country, returns to the national spotlight a week later to host FC Kansas City on August 4 at 8:30 PM ET in a marquee matchup between two of the top NWSL teams.


Abby Wambach and Carli Lloyd of the Western New York Flash face an early test to defend their championship mettle on July 21 at 1:30 PM ET against Sky Blue FC’s solid backline of U.S. National Team captain Christie Rampone. Then on August 17 at 8:00 PM ET, Wambach and co. battle against the Boston Breakers and fellow national team members Sydney Leroux and Heather O’Reilly in a final season push before the semifinal playoffs begin one week later on August 24 at 2:00 PM ET.


2013 NWSL National Television Schedule*


Date                      Home Team                     Away Team                  Time (ET)     TV                

Sunday, July 14     Seattle Reign FC              Washington Spirit          8:30 p.m.      FOX Soccer

Sunday, July 21     Western New York Flash   Sky Blue FC                  1:30 p.m.      FOX Soccer

Sunday, July 28     Portland Thorns FC          Chicago Red Stars        7 p.m.          FOX Soccer

Sunday, Aug. 4      Portland Thorns FC          FC Kansas City             8:30 p.m.      FOX Soccer

Saturday, Aug. 10  Washington Spirit             Seattle Reign FC           7 p.m.          FOX Soccer

Saturday, Aug. 17  Western New York Flash   Boston Breakers           8 p.m.          FOX Soccer

Saturday, Aug. 24  Semifinal                                                             2 p.m.          TBD

Saturday, Aug. 24  Semifinal                                                             8 p.m.          TBD

Saturday, Aug. 31  Championship                                                      8 p.m.          TBD

*Subject to change

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) is an eight-team Division-I women’s professional soccer league featuring players from Canada, Mexico and U.S. The founding clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, the Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash. Based in Chicago, the NWSL is supported by the United States Soccer Federation, Canadian Soccer Association and Federation of Mexican Football. For more information about the NWSL, log on to the league’s official website at


Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus