via press release:




Awards Show Premieres on WATCH Disney Channel App

and Radio Disney on Saturday, May 4



Selena Gomez, Taylor Swift, Justin Bieber and One Direction were among the winners tonight at the Radio Disney Music Awards (RDMA). The awards show, a celebration of music’s most popular young artists as voted on by kid and tween fans, took place at Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE and included performances by Gomez, Cher Lloyd, Bridgit Mendler, Cody Simpson, Mindless Behavior, Austin Mahone and Coco Jones.


The RDMA show will be presented SATURDAY, MAY 4 on the popular WATCH Disney Channel app available on iPhone, iPad and iPod touch, as well as online at WATCHDisneyChannel.com. The RDMA show will also air on SATURDAY, MAY 4 (5:00 p.m., ET/ 2:00 p.m., PT) and SUNDAY, MAY 5 (11:00 a.m., ET/8:00 a.m., PT) on Radio Disney. The excitement continues FRIDAY, MAY 10 – SUNDAY, MAY 12 when Disney Channel presents a special “RDMA Weekend” showcasing performances and winner highlights, airing nightly beginning at 8:00 p.m., ET/PT.


Following are the winners of the 2013 Radio Disney Music Awards:


They’re The One – Best Music Group:

One Direction


Ultimate Breakout Star – Biggest Viral Artist:

Austin Mahone


The Bestest – Song Of The Year:

I Knew You Were Trouble – Taylor Swift


He’s The One – Best Male Artist:

Justin Bieber


She’s The One – Best Female Artist:

Selena Gomez


Hit The Road – Best Break Up Song:

We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together – Taylor Swift


XOXO – Best Crush Song:

Had Me @ Hello – Olivia Holt


Radio Disney Live – Best Acoustic Performance:

Ready Or Not – Bridgit Mendler


Funniest Celebrity Take:

Sandwich Rap – Coco Jones


Video VIP – Best Music Video:

Heard It On The Radio – Ross Lynch


So FANTastic – Fiercest Fans:



In addition to the music awards, five kids from across the country received the “Heroes For Change” Award in recognition of their efforts to make a difference in their communities. Each honoree was recognized on stage alongside their favorite stars: Selena Gomez presented to Misha Ahmad on behalf of UNICEF; “Shake It Up” stars Caroline Sunshine and Adam Irigoyen presented to Denzell Perry for Boys & Girls Club of America; Jeff Corwin (“Litton’s Weekend Adventure”) presented to Dara Reyes for the National Park Foundation; Debby Ryan (“Jessie”) presented to Ben Harowitz for Free the Children; and Bella Thorne (“Shake It Up”) presented to Mary Dawson for Youth Service America. Additionally, Ellen DeGeneres, The Wanted, Carly Rae Jepsen and Justin Bieber appeared via video to present a Special Recognition Award to manager Scooter Braun for his charitable work with Pencils of Promise.


Radio Disney is the #1, 24-hour radio network devoted to kids, tweens and families. Kids help pick the music that is played and are encouraged to interact via a toll-free phone line to the Radio Disney studio. The network’s current playlist, driven by listener requests and representing major record labels, includes recording artists Selena Gomez, Justin Bieber, Taylor Swift, One Direction, Katy Perry, Cody Simpson, Carly Rae Jepsen and Cher Lloyd. The network is available on 31 owned terrestrial radio stations and is also available via RadioDisney.com, Sirius XM satellite radio on channel 79, iTunes Radio Tuner, mobile phones, the Radio Disney iPhone and Android Apps, and the Radio Disney Facebook page.


Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus