via press release:

Twelve Defending State Champions Showcased in Third Annual ESPN High School Football Kickoff

26 Teams from 15 States in 13 Games across ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN3


Twenty-six teams from 15 states will compete in the third annual ESPN High School Football Kickoff, August 24-26, across ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN3. The 13 matchups will showcase 11 ESPN 150 ranked players, 12 defending state champions and 18 teams appearing on an ESPN network for the first time.


2012 By The Numbers:

  • 12 defending state champions, including two games with dueling state champions:
  • Fri, Aug. 24, ESPN2: Good Counsel (MD, WCAC) and Bishop Gorman (NV, 4A)
  • Sat, Aug. 25, ESPN: Byrnes (SC, 4A Div. 1) and Oscar Smith (VA, Div. 6)
  • Additional state champions playing: Valor Christian (CO, Class 4A), American Heritage (FL, 3A), Staley (MO, Class 5), Ensworth (TN, 2A Div. II), Santa Margarita (CA, Southern Sec. PAC 5), Maryville (TN, 6A), Trotwood–Madison (OH, Div. II) and Gilman (MD).
  • 18 teams appearing on ESPN for the first time (in order of appearance):


  • Providence Catholic (Ill.)
  • Minnetonka (Minn.)
  • Arrowhead (Wis.)
  • Valor Christian (Co.)
  • American Heritage (Fla.)
  • Fork Union Military Academy (Va.)
  • Hermitage (Va.)
  • Staley (Mo.)
  • Lee’s Summit West (Mo.)
  • Ensworth (Tenn.)
  • Lexington Catholic (Ky.)
  • Santa Margarita Catholic (Calif.)
  • Brophy Prep (Ariz.)
  • Alcoa (Tenn.)
  • Maryville (Tenn.)
  • University School (Fla.)
  • Trotwood-Madison (Ohio)
  • Gilman (Md.)
  • No.10 Christian Hackenberg (QB, Fork Union), No. 19 Cam Burrows (CB, Trotwood-Madison), No. 28 Kendall Fuller (DB, Good Counsel), No.30 Greg Bryant (RB, American Heritage), No.40 Maquedius Bain (DT, University School), No. 45 Jordan Cunningham (WR, University School), No.58 Derrick Green (RB, Hermitage), No. 70 Ty Isaac (RB, Joliet Catholic), No. 76 Dorian O’Daniel (OLB, Good Counsel), No.82 Tarean Folston (ATH, Cocoa), and No. 104 Mike McCray II (OLB, Trotwood-Madison).

  • Teams from 15 states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and Wisconsin.
  • Seven states represented for the first time during Kickoff: Arizona, Colorado, Kentucky, Minnesota, Tennessee, Virginia and Wisconsin.
  • 11 student-athletes ranked in the ESPN 150:


2012 ESPN High School Football Kickoff Schedule:

Date Time (ET) Games Location Network
Fri, Aug 24 8 p.m. Joliet Catholic Academy (Ill.) vs. Providence Catholic (Ill.) Providence Catholic High School ESPNU
  8 p.m. Minnetonka (Minn.) vs. Arrowhead (Wis.) Arrowhead High School ESPN3
  9 p.m. Good Counsel (Md.) vs. Bishop Gorman (Nev.) Bishop Gorman High School ESPN2
  10 p.m. Mullen (Co.) vs. Valor Christian (Co.) Valor Christian High School ESPN3
Sat, Aug 25 noon American Heritage (Fla.) vs. Cocoa (Fla.) Cocoa High School ESPN
  3 p.m. Fork Union Military Academy (Va.) vs. Hermitage (Va.) Oscar Smith High School ESPNU
  3:30 p.m. Staley (Mo.) vs. Lee’s Summit West (Mo.) Lee’s Summit West High School ESPN
  7 p.m. Byrnes (S.C.) vs. Oscar Smith (Va.) Oscar Smith High School ESPN
  9 p.m. Ensworth (Tenn.) vs. Lexington Catholic (Ky.) Lexington Catholic High School ESPNU
  10 p.m. Santa Margarita (Calif.) vs. Brophy College Prep (Ariz.) Phoenix College ESPN2
Sun, Aug 26 noon Alcoa (Tenn.) vs. Maryville (Tenn.) Maryville High School ESPN2
  3 p.m. University School (Fla.) vs. Trotwood-Madison (Ohio) King’s High School ESPN
  7 p.m. Gilman (Md.) vs. Moeller (Ohio) King’s High School ESPNU


Last year’s ESPN High School Football Kickoff also featured 13 games including: defending Florida 6A Champion Armwood, defending Nevada 4A Champion Bishop Gorman, defending Alabama 6A Champion Prattville and defending Indiana 4A Champion Indianapolis Cathedral.


The ESPN High School Football Kickoff is produced in conjunction with Paragon Marketing Group.

Posted by:TV By The Numbers

blog comments powered by Disqus